2007 Kansas State Fair Ribbon Winners!


Here (finally) are the items that won me ribbons at the Kansas State Fair last month:


EZ’s Baby Surprise Jacket This is my first attempt at EZ’s baby surprise jacket. It won a FIRST PLACE RIBBON in the infant jacket class. You can’t really tell from the picture, but the buttons are little mittens.
Fair Isle Snowflake Hat This is also a first attempt, at fair isle. It’s a snowflake hat, pattern from KnitPicks.com. It too won a FIRST PLACE RIBBON in the hat class.
Crocheted Ruffled Boa Even though I’ve been crocheting since I can remember, like 8 years old, which is, well, a very much long time ago, and even though I’ve only been knitting for 3 years, apparently the Kansas State Fair people think I knit way better then I crochet. This is a crocheted ruffled boa, pattern adapted from Lion Brand Yarn website. It won a THIRD PLACE RIBBON in the “crochet, other than classified” class. I wasn’t there to see what beat me, I was with the Yarn Harlot that afternoon.
Broadripple Socks This is my best. They’re the broadripple socks, pattern from Knitty.com. Yarn from KnitPicks, no longer available, in the Star Gazer Lily color. So pretty. I was so glad to see these win a ribbon, but SECOND PLACE? I thought I did really really good. Until I saw what won first….
What Beat My Socks Subtitled, “Why There Needs To Be A Separate Class For Socks And Just Not Lump Everything Into The “Knitting, Other Than Classified” Class.’
Wow.
P.S.: That’s my oldest son peeking around the corner.


So, there you have it. I am starting to work on Christmas presents now. One niece has a birthday in December too, and I actually finished her present, a little halter top (Knitty.com), this past weekend when the soccer games were all canceled. I’ll put up pictures of that when hubby isn’t mad at me anymore for helping to upload these. Apparently we have blog issues.

2 Responses to “2007 Kansas State Fair Ribbon Winners!”


  1. 1 kelidir October 17, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    Good for you! congrats! I just started knitting about 3 weeks ago and am totally addicted! I have done a scarf, a hat and am now working on a poncho.


  1. 1 Basking in the glow « YarnDork Trackback on October 14, 2008 at 9:57 am

Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


