Baby blanket for Coach Tony

Baby blanket for Coach TonyOk, so Coach Tony isn’t even Middle Son P’s soccer coach this year, but I couldn’t resist making him a baby blanket when I found out that his poor wife was expecting son #3.  Having some experience with 3 boys, I got the frilliest blue yarn I could find, even on clearance at HL.  This is how smart I am sometimes.  I only had 3 balls of each color!  So, how did I manage to make 4 blocks?  I think it may have been the Mountain Dew helping, but this is what I did…  copying a pattern (adapting it for a way smaller size) from my Creative Knitting magazine, I took one ball of the light blue and divided it in half.  The hard way.  I unwound the whole thing, then took both ends held together until I reached the middle.  Then, tied a slip knot, and did it again.  No, I’m not anal, I just didn’t want to waste any of my clearance yarn.  ($1.50 a ball!!!!)  When I was satisfied I had halfsies, I cut the yarn and re-rolled into 2 balls.  I started at the lower left corner, this is sort of like the mitered square pattern, except that I think you increase in every row on this one.  At any rate, I just kept going until I was just about out of the first 1/2 ball of light blue, took note of how many stitches I was across, and did one entire ball of the dark blue until  I was just about out, and, made note of that # too, so I could make sure my squares were all the same #.  There was no binding off on this one… you do the lower left square, leaving all stitches on a spare cable, then do the diagonal opposite square, then use half of those and pick up half from the first square and do decreases down on the other 2.  Then, I had some other fuzzy yarn (99 cents) that I used for a sc border.  Does that make any sense?  This pattern was so nice, especially the part about not having to really bind anything off.  On the other 2 squares, you just kept decreasing down to 3 stitches, then do a triple decrease to 1 and cut the yarn.  I also liked that they told you to purl the last stitch of each row and then slip the first stitch knitwise.  The whole thing was done in garter, and this made a nice edge that I am copying onto that adaptation of Bloom for the cape for my niece.

0 Responses to “Baby blanket for Coach Tony”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


