Oh my gosh, I forgot about the cookies!

Sorry to anyone who was looking for those cookies.  I completely forgot.  My kids soccer games were so good this weekend, that I didn’t get any knitting done, and was trying to make up for it in my spare time.  Then we went out to get son #1 some new tennies Sunday afternoon, then it was cutting the grass and fixing supper and bathtime and story time and, well you get it.  Without futher ado, here it is.  One rule, if you have kids, you MUST let them “help”, in honor of my mom.

Mom’s Sugar Cookies

1 c shortening

2 c sugar

2 eggs

1 c milk

4 tsp baking powder

6 c flour

Cream first 2 together, then add in eggs.  Gently stir in milk.  This will help to dissolve the sugar granules.  Add in 2 cups at a time of the flour, also mixing in the baking powder.  The last cup or so will probably have to be kneaded in.  Then divide up amongst your kids and sprinkle a board liberally with flour.  Roll out and cut into desired shapes and bake on ungreased sheet for 8 to 10 minutes at 375.  You can vary the thickness depending on your likes.  My Dad likes them thin and crispy.  When I bake for him, I let them just start to get brown on the edges.  Then he can dunk them in his coffee.  My sister and I like them thicker and more on the cake-y side.  My husband for whatever reason can’t seem to eat them plain, he has to have frosting.  My brother will eat them however my sister and I make them.  One last thing, they are way better the next day, so if you want them today, you have to make them yesterday.  You will be amazed at the difference in the taste.  Go ahead and try one right out of the oven, then put the rest in a tupperware container or something, and try one tomorrow.  See, better.  Have fun, and if you like them, look up and thank my mom.

1 Response to “Oh my gosh, I forgot about the cookies!”


  1. 1 Allison October 25, 2007 at 11:03 am

    Kathy, you do realize you are completely evil for implying that I might pregnant already! HA! But don’t think it hasn’t crossed my mind….
    Mmmmm, cookies- thanks for the recipe!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


