Happy Birthday? Mom

My mom died 13 years ago today.  I can’t believe it’s been that long.  In some ways, I sort of feel like she’s been gone almost forever.  Yet, in others, I keep thinking I can call her and tell her about what one of my kids just did, or what can I do with a pound of ground turkey that I haven’t already done a hundred times for supper.  She never got to meet any of my boys, and I think that’s what hurts the most.  She wanted so bad to be a grandma, and cancer had other plans.

Mom?  I miss you.  Love, Kathy

PS.  I’m getting some red carnations for you today.

2 Responses to “Happy Birthday? Mom”


  1. 1 Robin November 3, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    I understand how you feel about missing your mom. Mine passed away a little over six years ago. She did get to be a grandma but I still miss her. My oldest daughter reminds me so much of her.

  2. 2 yarndork November 5, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Thanks so much for the kind words. Ever feel like you’re the only one? Maybe it’s better I have only boys. I don’t know how I’d look at someone without crying if they looked like her. Must go play with yarn now to feel better. I usually only get depressed for a couple days.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


