2 scarves down, many to go


Phils Scarf

Originally uploaded by YarnDork

Finished the “frogged too many times” scarf this afternoon while my Thanksgiving ham was in the oven. I love this pattern, and I already cast on 2 more. One in the same yarn, but different color for my brother (this one’s for BIL Phil) and one for said brother’s fiance in wait, this is cool, I must explain. I’m using Lion Brand Wool-ease. Comes in sport, worsted, chunky, and thick and quick. For Phil’s and Kyle’s (brother), I’m using the thick and quick. Kyle gets a colorway called wheat. A nice off-white with speckles of bits of darker yarn, sort of like a black cat laid on it. So, for Kristen’s(fiance), I’m using the wheat in worsted weight, and combining it with a purple I already had. They get the same pattern, and sort of the same yarn, but different weights, and Kristen gets her purple and some fringe. I didn’t put fringe on Phil’s and don’t plan on putting it on Kyle’s. Fringe is for girls.

2 Responses to “2 scarves down, many to go”


  1. 1 Meredith November 23, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    The scarf looks wonderful! And I think the matching-but-different yarns is a sweet idea. đŸ™‚

  2. 2 dale-harriet in WI November 24, 2007 at 3:05 am

    You know, some people say they don’t like/love/use/consider Lion Brand. I appreciate some of the “good” yarns – Cascade, Paton, some of those delicious yummy non-synthetic ones…but I have to say, I loves me some Lion Brand. I use “Homespun” a LOT, for shawls, for baby wraps, for napwraps, mufflers, headbands. I make the old “CO 3, K2, YO, knit to end” shawl in great quantities, using 3 or 4 skeins as a rule. They’re beautiful, machine-washable, inexpensive and especially warm and cozy. (I like a yarn that doesn’t make mommies cry when little Hildegard burps up all over it.) I’ve used Wool-ease worsted for lots of things. Your “kinfolk” scarves sound beautiful and you’re bound to be a Hero on Christmas. Knit on!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


