Abby’s Cardigan is done!


Abbys Cardigan

Originally uploaded by YarnDork

This is that cardigan that I had to bribe myself to seam up. I have to say though, that it did turn out smashingly. I did change the pattern a bit though. It was from my Creative Knitting magazine, and it showed a mother/daughter combo. But their ruffle was done using one of those rapid decreases, and I just don’t like the look of that much. So, I did mine differently. I figured out what the total # of stitches were supposed to be on the pattern after the ruffle part, then I think I multiplied by 10 or something. Anyway, it works out so the first row of after the original cast on is k10p2, then the 3rd row is k8p2, and you keep decreasing every other row like that. You do a k2tog on one side and a ssk on the other, to make them mirror. Then the last row is a k2p2, and you switch to straight stockinette. The other change I made was to the cuffs. The pattern called for a garter stitch edging, and I don’t like those either, so I made these a simple k2p2 rib for about 10 rows.

Bribe socks are coming along too. I’m having trouble putting them down to finish the other Christmas knitting. Like the slippers I’m surprising my boys with. We had told them we weren’t getting them anything, because their Christmas present basically is the trip to Hawaii in January. Santa is coming though, and there will be presents from other family. But I decided to go ahead and make them something anyway. Didn’t buy any new yarn, just used stash. Well, sort of. The other week, when all that yarn was on sale at Michaels, I let them each pick out a skein. Even the 3 year old. He didn’t know what he wanted to do with it, but he wanted one too. Then when I had the idea to make the slippers, I started going through my stash to look for colors, and I had an idea. What if I used their yarn? They weren’t using it. Patrick’s was in a lump under the computer, Russ’s was in a ball in the kitchen, and David’s was at least put away neatly in his yarn box. I’ll be sure to get up pictures when they’re done.

1 Response to “Abby’s Cardigan is done!”


  1. 1 Sonya Acord December 30, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Hi there~~ I saw this link on the Ravelry Weight Watchers site. I just wanted to say how CUTE Abby’s cardigan is! Nice job!

    Sonya Acord, WW


Leave a Reply

Tweets

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


