Socks, and more socks, and a sweater

Now that Christmas knitting is pretty much done (I may still whip out one more washcloth for MIL), I’ve started on MY STUFF.  Back a long time ago, on my last order, wait, it was using my birthday $$, which was in August, I think I ordered in Sept or Oct, so this yarn has been waiting patiently, anyway, I got some Crayon yarn from Knitpicks.com, and the Vanilla Pullover pattern.  It’s 100% cotton, and very soft to work with.  If the sweater ends up washing nice, I will probably end up ordering more to make a sweater for oldest son David.  Also in that order was a few balls of Palette, which I love to make socks with.

I think I already mentioned my bribe socks, which are coming along swimmingly.  I’m using Wendy’s feather and fan toe-up version.  I did a short row toe using the leftover Autumn Palette from the other socks I did, which ended up being quite a bit leftover.  I did the short rows, then back up, then joined, and just kept going with the Autumn until I ran out.  I did, however, in my analness, pre-measure both leftover balls and started with the smaller one.  Sure wouldn’t want to have 1/2 row extra or something.  Then I joined in the Ivy, which is a deep forest-y green, and did I think maybe 2 or 3 rows of just plain stockinette, then started the pattern.  I do that so that I can knit over the end of the Autumn on the first row of using the green, then on the second row, I knit over the starting end of the green.  I found out that knitting ends in and YO’s don’t work real well together.

I also had a sock that I started a while back, using a mistake rib pattern.  I love the pattern, just something about it in a sock just didn’t do anything for me.  Then I thought about frogging it, but didn’t want to do that without having something in mind specifically.  Then I remembered my queue on Ravelry.com.  I know I put like 15 sock patterns on there.  Went hunting, and found one called Fawkes, after the phoenix in the HP books.  Since the yarn I was considering was orange, I thought that was fitting.  Problem … the link wasn’t working.  After some detective work, I found another link and found the pattern, and went straight to work.  I worked on it last night while waiting for hubby to get back from the airport from his trip to FL, and got a few inches done, then worked on it a while this morning too.  The pattern chart is very easy to read, and seemed to me to be going along pretty fast.  Then I realized something.  The chart was for cuff down, and I was doing my normal cheapest person in the world toe-up.  So, now instead of the phoenix flames rising upwards, they’re all going towards my toes.  I put it aside for today to decide if I want to re-write the entire chart or just live with it.  The problem with re-writing it, as I see it, is that there’s a lot of decreases, k2tog and ssk, and in order to reverse those from down to up, I think I’d have to do increases, like m1r and m1l.  I’m not real good at those, meaning that when I do them, they look kind of bad.

So, what to do?  For now, I’m sticking with my feather and fan socks, and my crayon sweater.  And fighting the urge to start another pair of socks.  There’s one on my queue right now that would look really nice in that leftover purple from my sister’s socks.  Hmmmmmm….

4 Responses to “Socks, and more socks, and a sweater”


  1. 1 Allison January 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Happy New Year, Kathy! I know what you mean about finishing the projects for everyone else and now having time to knit for yourself. There’s a lace project I’ve been eyeing for quite some time….

  2. 2 Krisy January 2, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Ah, the joys of knitting for everyone else! Over 23 years, I have made myself 3 things. Only 3! This year, I will learn to think of myself a little bit more when it comes to my knitting!

    Krisy
    http://wordpress.com/krisybean1

  3. 3 Meredith January 2, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Happy new year! And yay for knitting for yourself! I have birthdays still to knit for, but I’ve taken a break from the knitting for other people to work on a scarf for myself. It’s wonderful to knit with absolutely no one to please but yourself.

  4. 4 Robin January 2, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Yes I did knit the Monkeys. They were an incredibly fun knit and I will knit them again eventually. So many socks so little time.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


