Yarn almost packed

Is it wrong that I have no clothes packed or even dug out from wherever they’re stored yet, but I have my yarn all planned out? I didn’t think so. Here’s what I’m taking, assuming that my needles do not get confiscated at the airport. A nice TSA person on Ravelry told me I should be ok, just to print off the allowable things page from the TSA web page, and if there’s any trouble to ask for a supervisor. So, I’m a little less panicky after conversing with her. I think it’s a her.

So, here’s the list.

Sock #1 – wip, the bribe sock, ivy palette yarn, feather and fan pattern

Sock #2 – wip, Fawkes pattern, pumpkin essential yarn

Sweater – wip, crayon yarn, plain vanilla pullover pattern, from knitpicks.com

Scarf – wip, yarn from ??? (stash), bias pattern from Mason-Dixon blog

Shawl – wip, alpaca cloud yarn, feather and fan pattern

Then some extra yarn, in case I finish something, like the socks. I’m bring 2 yarns that I’ve already pre-divided in half, to do my usual toe-up something. I think I’m bringing that snowflake pattern, and maybe a few others that I’ve been thinking of doing. Also, One more ball of Palette that I’m not going to divide up, that’ll be my insurance yarn. Probably won’t use it, but it’ll be nice to know it’s there just in case. Also, have to bring 2 balls of my angora, so my sister and I can pet them. And then the old stand-by…Sugar and Cream, size 8 needles, and a G hook so I can make potholders and washcloths. Those are nice for doing on the beach. Doesn’t really matter if you get sand in cotton yarn, at least not that yarn. That’ll mostly be my beach knitting, I think.

Oh my gosh, I’m actually going to Hawaii. The kids have their activity bags packed. A while back, I bought some nice canvas bags when they were half off at Hobby Lobby, one in each of 3 colors, and this past week, the kids decorated them with fabric paint. Usually when we go somewhere, we drive, and I let the kids pack an activity box. My dad turned me on to these tomato boxes, I’ll have to get a picture up sometime, they are completely wonderful things, and they fit perfectly in the car for the kid’s stuff. I don’t believe in the DVD player in the car sort of thing. I’m sort of old-fashioned that way, but dang it, they can watch tv at home, and if you want to see something, look out the window. See, there’s New Mexico, never seen that before, have you? Don’t get me started, I fall of my soap box easily. What was I talking about? Oh yeah, the activity bags, so theirs are pretty much packed. I do plan on sneaking a few surprises in there later. Maybe I’ll even have to get a surprise for me too!

3 Responses to “Yarn almost packed”


  1. 1 Meredith January 7, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    It’s good to know you’ve got the important things covered. Figuring out what knitting to bring always takes me far longer than figuring out what clothes to pack. Besides, if you run out of clothes, you can always do laundry. But if you run out of knitting?

  2. 2 dale-harriet in WI January 8, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Bon Voyage! Hope you have the most WONderful time…and now, move over a little bit on that soapbox so there’s room for me up there too. I AM old, so old-fashioned comes with the territory. I was horrified to see BUILT-IN dvd players in cars, nevermind portable ones you can take along. I NEVER would’ve had such a thing (even if I’d been able to afford it, which I couldn’t). That’s why there ARE windows in a car. Kids take way too much of their lives in front of SCREENS. (Now, I, on the other hand, spend hours in front of my laptop, but I’m retired mostly, and I do other stuff too.) I refuse to turn on the television when my grandchildren are around, and when I’m at their house I read BOOKS to them. With pictures in, mostly – they’re very young. Mark my words, one day your little ones will thank you for expanding their worlds….IN the world (not just via a screen). Now we can both climb off of your soapbox, but don’t put it too far away, it’s needed.

  3. 3 Allison January 8, 2008 at 9:14 am

    Yea! Hawaii! And, yes, I think getting smashed on my birthday is a lovely idea- someone might as well!
    Oh, and I completely agree with you on the exersaucer. It’s been a GODSEND with packing and keeping James occupied for some time.
    Enjoy your trip!!!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


