My first Knit-Night

So, some Raverly gals and I met last night at a Panera. It was so much fun. We didn’t even realize that Panera closed at 8. One of the ladies noticed around 8:30 that they had been cleaning up around us for a while, and then saw the numbers on the window. Oops. They never said anything to us or tried to kick us out or anything. I love Panera. Turns out I had to bring the boys, since hubby was running late. Big surprise there. I told the ladies that next time, we had to plan it a half hour earlier. That way if it starts at 6:30, I’ll tell him it starts at 6:00. Then WHEN he runs late, I’ll still be on time or even early. It worked out ok though, the other ladies had kids too, and were very polite with my boys and had some nice conversations. Well, as nice as you can have with a 4 and a 5 year old.

I had so much fun that I think I messed up the Wonky Lace sock pattern. There’s 2 pattern repeats on the top of the sock, and on one side, I have a row of 2 knits that go up the whole way, no YO’s there, so there should be one on the other side to match, right? There isn’t. So, I’m trying to decide if it bothers me or not. I have a feeling that once I have time to sit down and knit, it’ll bother me.

One lady was working on a scarf that she had recently frogged. She has to cast on the sideways way, I think it was 326 stitches. Wow. The pattern calls for beads at each end, and it sure looked pretty in the picture. Another lady also was doing a scarf with a very cool pattern stitch called Shifting Sands. It was a 1 over 2 cable or something like that. It sort of gave the scarf a woven look. The last lady was doing a glove. She’s going to do the Master Knitter’s Program. That sounds very cool. You sign up and then they give you swatch instructions to knit in different patterns and one project. There’s 3 levels altogether. Something to add to my list of things to do before I die.

But for now, I must go and dig out my shorts (ugh) and find out if my swimsuit fits (double ugh), and start packing (yay). Start packing the clothes, I mean.

2 Responses to “My first Knit-Night”


  1. 1 dale-harriet in WI January 9, 2008 at 10:16 am

    what FUN! “Knit Night’, no matter what you call it, where it is or who comes, is always fun. It’s an opportunity to hang with your peeps and absorb yarn fumes and carry on. (And I love Panera too – the food’s good, the wireless efficient, and ours has lots of outlets and dynamite chili!) It’s a wonder you can sit quietly at ALL with those travel plans in your head! Those sidewise knit scarves? I haven’t the patience; I haven’t even dared try a shawl that you start at the top. “CO 2″…that, I can handle. Oh – and – you have a 5-year-old? You know, if it was the 18th century he’d be responsible for making three pair of socks a week for the family! (Well……if he was a girl, you know.)

  2. 2 Meredith January 10, 2008 at 6:18 pm

    Hearing about your knit night makes me think that I need to find one, since I’ve never been to one. Shouldn’t be too hard, since Ravelry tells me there are 42 yarn stores within 25 miles of my zip code.

    Good luck with the clothes packing.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


