Update on Wonky socks

I figured out where I messed up.  I frogged, I knew I would.  The pattern’s really easy, I’m just having a stupid time right now with all this Hawaii stuff running around in my head.  The pattern has a pattern row alternating with a knit all across row.  The pattern rows are 4 of them, all different so that the YO’s will not line up and it looks nice and lacey.  The 5th row, I thought was the easiest, because the k2tog and the yo’s were all separated by k2’s, where on the previous 2 rows, it was interspersed with some k2’s and some k1’s.  The problem occurred when I neglected to realize that I had 2 pattern repeats on the top.  The pattern goes something like this… k2, k2tog, yo, k2, k2tog, yo, k2 and so on, until you’ve used up 14 st.  You end with a k2.  Then you start the pattern repeat over again with a k2.  That’s what I missed.  I just kept going with the k2, k2tog, yo, k2, k2tog, yo all the way across.  Just so happens that I still ended with a k2, so I thought all was well.  Maybe I should put in a stitch marker or something.  Duh.

Side note…I just spell-checked this.  Turns out the following are not words…lacey,  frogged, and yo’s.  Turns out the following ARE words…k2, k2tog, and yo.  Hmmmmm.

2 Responses to “Update on Wonky socks”


  1. 1 dale-harriet in WI January 9, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Yeah, but guess what? ’cause we’re knitters and we have our own words. I think the only problem with “lacey” is that it’s spelled “lacy” (when talking about things like those socks); ANYone knows what “frogging” is (rip-it, rip-it, rip-it) so if the Department of They says that’s not a word, shows you what THEY know, as in: nothing about knitting, and YO sure IS a word. So see? We’re just smarter than the Department of They. Which anyway we knew that. So there.

  2. 2 Meredith January 10, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Clearly, the spell-checker doesn’t know much about knitting. And I wonder if it’s pretending to know more than it does; it might be very cleverly ignoring words with numbers in them and pretending it knows what’s going on.

    As for messing up the lace pattern, I do things like that far more often than I care to admit, especially if I’m tired or distracted. It’s really bad when I’m knitting and end up with the wrong number of stitches in a row, fix when I purl back across, and end up with a different wrong number at the end of the next knit row. At least knitting is easy (not necessarily quick, but easy) to fix. Yay for frogging!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


