I’m being a horrible person right now.

I’m so stressed about this whole trip. I wish we could just drive there. Hubby says we can’t; it’s an island. I say, Key West is an island and we can drive there. Put that in your pipe and smoke it.

I’ve spent the entire day either biting my tongue so I don’t yell at the kids for something they don’t deserve to be yelled at about, or yelling at them. Last night, they did most of their packing. I just had them do 5 of everything. Then had them lay out their clothes for the journey, very comfy stuff, because I didn’t want them wearing it in the next couple of days, then Saturday morning at 6 asking me where the black sweatpants are. I also snuck one more change of clothes for each of them shirt, pants, and undies (can you call boy’s stuff undies? or is that just for girls?), and that I’m going to put in a carry-on somewhere so that if were stuck somewhere, or if someone spills something on themselves, or if someone pees, etc etc. Know what I need? A diaper bag. Ha.

Hubby was kind enough to stop at LYS and pick up some size 2 bamboo’s, as insurance. They weren’t as expensive as I thought they’d be, only $8. And it’s a set of 5. I’m used to 4, so I have insurance on that too. Now that I have those, I feel a lot more confident that my metals probably won’t be taken. Hope I didn’t just jinx myself there. When he came home, he was on the phone. So, he handed over the needles, and breezed on upstairs. I knew he had a conference call tonight, so I didn’t say anything, because I thought that was it. Then later on, I went upstairs to do something, and mouthed “Is that the conference call?” He says to the person he’s talking to, “OK, see you later. Bye.” So, now I’m instantly pissed off. I purposely didn’t say anything because I thought it was some “important” call, and didn’t want to be rude, and wait a minute… “SEE you later?” SEE??? What’s that? Now where is he going? I ask, and he means he’ll see the person on the conference call, and now that he’s done, he has time to give me a hug. I say forget it, I don’t have time now. I have things to do. And I storm out. Like I’m supposed to just be the patient wife and wait around until he had time for me. But he brought me needles. Maybe he should have brought me that alpaca sock yarn too.

Is it just me, or do I seriously need some Prozac? Or a beer?

2 Responses to “I’m being a horrible person right now.”


  1. 1 Cheryl January 11, 2008 at 12:23 am

    It took me the longest time to realize that when men say “See you later,” that what they really mean is just “Good bye.” It seems to work the same way with “I’ll call you.”

    Remember, he brought you needles. I was married for 22 years before my husband called to see if I needed him to stop by the store on his way home from work.

    Maybe what you need is for this trip to start. I hope you get lots of knitting done while you are away.

  2. 2 Meredith January 11, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    I’ve gotten “see you later” in place of good-bye from some of the men I regularly talk to on the phone for work, but in most cases have never met. In general, I find it less annoying than “what’s happening?” as a greeting in place of hi. Somehow, I think it’s more rude to feign interest in my life by using such a greeting when you’re clearly not interested in getting a reply, than it is to simply say hi and leave it at that.

    And as for the mood altering chemicals, I here chocolate’s a good one. It doesn’t require a prescription, and it doesn’t have quite the judgment impairing effects of alcohol.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


