You’ve got to be kidding me

PTO meeting was last night.  I took Kristi’s sock because I had stayed up the previous night to get it to the point where I could start the heel.  You’d think, considering the problems I had with the toe, that I might have learned something.  You’d be wrong.

I sat there at the PTO meeting, listening and being very attentive, and knitting away at my heel, verifying every so often that I had an odd # of st on my knit rows.  All was good in the heel world.  I even got to the point where I was down to the 9 (10) stitches, and began short-rowing back up.  I only got a few rows on that part before it was time to pack up the knitting and the boys and head home.  Then it was bath time, and talk of whether or not it’d be a snow day tomorrow (it was), and then, finally, it was time to turn on Jewelry Television and look at sparklies and finish the heel.  Guess what?

I got almost done and noticed that there was a different # of pairs of stitches on either side.  I thought for a moment, that it was because I had just done one and not done it’s match on the other side or something like that.  So, I just kept going.  Dumb.

I got to the end, where there should be only 1 pair left, on the purl side, which you save for when you knit back around to it and knit 3 tog through the back loop.  Guess what?  I had an extra on the other side, where there shouldn’t be an extra.  Dang and double dang.  I think I may hate this sock.  I frogged back to the beginning of the heel and started again.  Only took one do-over this time.
It’s not the pattern.  The pattern’s great.  I don’t even look at the chart anymore.  It’s one row of the pattern, followed by knit the knits and purl the purls for 3 rows.  Very easy and looks fantastic.  It’s the dang toes and heels.  What’s wrong with me?  Maybe I need a break.

Where’s my angora?

2 Responses to “You’ve got to be kidding me”


  1. 1 Meredith February 7, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Sometimes you have to be strict with your knitting and put it in time out. I’ve found that setting it aside somewhere where it can watch you work on other, better-behaved projects for a few days can bring about quite the positive change in attitude and behavior. But sometimes, more extreme measures are called for, like stuffing it in the back of the WIP drawer and leaving it there for a day/week/month or three to ponder its fate. Frogging can also be used as a pretty effective threat, although you have to be careful not to employ it when you don’t mean it.

  2. 2 Janet February 8, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    What ever is “wrong” with you will be worked out in the needles. Hope it doesn’t take you very long. But if it does consider it cheap therapy.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


