Halfway there

Thank you Meredith, for suggesting the time out.  It worked magically.  Last night, I simply put the sock back in the bag and set in at the bottom of my bed so it could watch me work on my sweater that’s been sadly neglected during my current obsession with socks.  The sweater is in a blue cotton, from Knitpicks, called Crayon, and it feels wonderful going through my hands.  I gazed lovingly at it, all the while making sure the sock saw everything.  It was simple knit one row, purl one row, over and over and over again.  No trouble with shortrowing, no turn and YO, no patterning, just simple knit and purl.  It was a beautiful time we had, my sweater in progress and I.   I think I may have gotten through a few inches, although I didn’t measure to be exact.

This morning, I looked at the sock, and tried to decide if it was ready to behave.  It was.  The only thing I had to re-do was that I was estimating how many pattern repeats to do before starting the ribbing for the cuff, and I did 4, and started the ribbing.  I did about 8 rows of ribbing, looked at how much yarn I had left, and thought that I could get 2 more pattern repeats out of the yarn before doing the ribbing.  So, I frogged the ribbing (how many times can I type the word ribbing in a paragraph, I wonder?), and did the 2 more repeats, and then the ribbing.  I ended up with binding off on the 12th row and it looks great.  Good sock.

Then I put it back in the bag so it can have a nice LONG talk with the other ball before I get started on it for the second sock.

2 Responses to “Halfway there”


  1. 1 Janet February 8, 2008 at 5:27 pm

    My sweater has been in timeout three times. I’ve had second sleeve syndrom for about three months now.

  2. 2 Meredith February 9, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I’m glad to hear that the time out was effective. 🙂 Hopefully, it’ll pass on its wisdom to the other half of the yarn and you won’t have any more trouble.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


