This is really pretty amazing, if I do say so myself

Memorial Socks and leftover yarn, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

Do you see those little scraps? That’s what I have left after finishing up the Memorial Socks. Check out the Socktopia group on ravelry for more details. I really have to pat myself on the back for this one. See you have to remember that I’m the cheapest person in the world. I get sock yarn, and when I’m ready to knit it, I divide it in half. I clear off the bed, and start at one side and unwind the entire thing onto my bed. Lately, while hoping the cat or the kids don’t jump up. I then take both ends and holding them together, string them through my hand into a huge pile. When I get to the middle, I tie a little slip knot, then separate out the 2 sides into 2 piles, then grab the 2 ends and do it all again, just to make sure I got pretty close to the middle the first time. I guess the reason I do it twice is that no matter how carefully I unwind the ball, I usually get a tangle or twist or 2, and I think that may affect the yardage. So, after unwinding into 2 piles, I get the ends and make another pile holding the 2 together. I usually get pretty close to the original middle, then I snip. I undo the pile again, separating the yarn out and wind up each pile into 2 little balls. That way, when I start a sock, I know I have that entire ball for that one sock. I do toe-up’s usually, and go until a have a small wad left and then start the ribbing. Or sometimes, I save a little and use that for the toes on another pair of socks. But, something said that this yarn wouldn’t really coordinate with too many other colors. Plus, I think they’re about the perfect height. For those of you interested, the pattern is Uzume, which is a really great pattern, I think. Google the name, and one of the answers is some Japanese goddess, I think, and it has to do with twisting in the wind. The way she wrote the pattern, the stitches follow a twisting pattern up the sock, separated out by some stockinette. You can’t really tell from this picture, but they’re actually fairly lacey. I’m going to be putting up some toe-up modifications either here or on Ravelry, as soon as I hear from the right people about where they want it written down. Overall, this was a really fun knit, and I’ll do it again. But, these off the needles means I got to cast on with my alpaca sock yarn last night. Yum, I think I’m in love again.

3 Responses to “This is really pretty amazing, if I do say so myself”


  1. 1 Nettie March 7, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    I am actually very impressed that you timed the socks that closely. Just an alternate thought on dividing a skein evenly, you can use a food scale to weight the skein before you roll it. Roll the first ball until it is half of the original weight. Do not cut and start rolling the second ball. Weight the 2nd ball and adjust to or from the first ball until the weights are identical. This has worked out very well and holds up through a pair of socks and left over sock yarn wrist warmers. It is also less stressful because you don’t have to worry about pets or children jumping on it like a pile of leaves. Nice socks too!

  2. 2 dale-harriet in WI March 8, 2008 at 10:18 am

    Well, I stand a-MAZED! Holy man-in-a-basket, that’s cutting it short so to speak. If I were coming to the end of something and had just that teensy tail left I’d be reduced to gibbering and whining! (Also, your technique for dividing it is WAY beyond me; I’m better off taking me chances!) But I do applaud you (and oh, yeah – those socks? STUNNING!)

  3. 3 kristin March 9, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    That is pretty darn cool 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


