Easter Egg Hunt weekend

Well, I’m glad that’s over. Our church had their Spring Fest on Saturday, and Steve went to Colorado for one of his sisters’ birthdays. Coincidence? Hmmmm.

I had asked my neighbor to come along, and she brought her son who’s about Patrick’s age, and they all had fun. It was supposed to be at this great park, which last year was a big mudpit because it had rained ALL the previous week, and then was sunny and in the high 60’s to low 70’s on Saturday. The kids were all slopping around in their sandals and got absolutely filthy. This year, the weather also did not cooperate. The high that day was around 30. At the time of the big shin-dig it was windy and 25. Luckily, the smart people at the church decided to not have it at the park and got all the stuff in the church. Looking back, I don’t know how they did it. They had all these blow up things, like slides and the bouncy things with nets around them so the kids won’t fall out and one game that was pretty cute. It was for 2 kids at once, and they were attached to each other back to back with a harness thing and a bungee cord. They had to try to throw balls into the hoop on their side. So, if one kid pulled towards his hoop, it drug the other kid back toward the middle. It was pretty funny. They had a couple of fun fair games too, the fishing one and a bean bag toss. The kids all had so much fun, and I’m so glad Russell had rested all up on Friday to feel well enough to go. Still, we went and afterwards had lunch at Noodles at the kids’ request and went home and ALL of us passed out. I fixed sloppy joe’s for supper.

Sunday dawned way to early…I really dislike the whole hour time change thing. When I’m retired like my dad, I’m not going to follow it either. He hasn’t changed his clocks in years. Just keeps it on railroad times. I had already sort of decided maybe we wouldn’t go to church because I was feeling lazy and didn’t want to get everybody ready all by myself like I usually do because Steve usually has something going on at church that he has to be there early for. Then when I became lucid around 10 am, that sort of settled it. Turned out Sunday was gorgeous weather. I fixed the kids the first official picnic of 2008 and they ate on a towel on the driveway. Gunther came out and wandered around for a while. The other cats started making fun of his shaved parts though, so I let him back inside. The kids played outside the entire rest of the day. David came in around 5 I think, saying his feet were tired. Yeah, mine would be too.

Steve’s plane got in around 11:40, and he called me on landing and said he’d call me again when he got to the car.  So, I waited a little over an hour (ok, so I completely lost track of time because I had the ANGORA out and was K2 P2-ing away) and called him back, thinking that he should be almost home.  He wasn’t.  The office had called him and something wasn’t working right on the computers and he was there at the airport trying to dial in and fix it.  Poor thing.  He finally got home around 1:30, I think, and I remember looking at the clock a little after 2 and telling him I needed to get some sleep.  I really don’t remember much between that.  I was so tired that I took a nap today and slept through the DirecTV guy who was supposed to install our tivo thing through our satellite.  Oops.  He’s coming back on Friday.  I totally didn’t hear anyone knocking or anything.  I must have really passed out.  All I can think of is good thing I thought to set my alarm for a little after 3 or I would have been late to pick up David from school!

Oh, did you hear that?  Wait a minute.  I can’t tell; I’ll have to go and check.  It’s calling my name, but I can’t tell if it’s the angora again or the alpaca sock yarn that I just got done turning the heel on Sunday afternoon.

1 Response to “Easter Egg Hunt weekend”


  1. 1 Allison March 12, 2008 at 9:38 am

    Gorgeous socks below! And the Crown on the gums? I see nothing wrong with that- Joe’s got a great whisky/honey concoction that stops a cough. I think I’ll wait a bit before using THAT ONE on James though…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


