Rain Forest Day

Patrick and Russell 4-11-08, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

Isn’t this just the cutest thing? They had a special day today at Patrick’s kindergarten. The students (and Russell too when he saw everyone else) had their faces painted like rainforest creatures. Patrick was a jaguar. Russell just wanted to be a kitty. I drew on the ears and the whiskers and the nose. He ran over to the mirror, and said sadly, “But I wanted to be a boy kitty.” Hmmm, I thought I did that. But, I saw the brown, so I scribbled some lines/stripes on him and that satisfied him. I think I’m going to get some of those face paint markers. We’ll see how easily (or not) they wash off first.

I’ve been having the toughest time making decisions on what to do with that alpaca laceweight I got last weekend for my sister. I have it narrowed down to about 10 or 12 things on Ravelry. I think what I’ll do is just let my sister pick out a pattern. In the mean time, I thought, I’ll pick out something for me to make out of the other alpaca I got for Steve but he thinks it’s scratchy. I was torn there too, but I think I finally decided on a scarf/stole pattern called Flower Faire. Seems odd for brown yarn, I know, but the patterns so pretty. Only thing is, it calls for 500 yards and I have 600. Normally, I’d just make it a bit longer, but I think the length on the pattern is just right, 62″. That’s exactly how tall I am. So, I’m trying right now to look at her charts and see if I can figure out a way to add enough repeats to make it a little bigger without messing up the border. The directions have you working from the center outwards, then casting on extra stitches and working the edging perpendicular to the previous direction you were working. So, I need to make sure I don’t mess up the border repeats by adding on some width. I’m pretty sure I can figure it out.

Knitting night tonight and I’m so excited. One of our ladies went to New York last weekend, and she’s bringing her souvenier yarn to show, and a few of us got to go to the Knitting in the Heartland, so we’re all bringing what we bought. Another lady had the idea to take a picture of us for Bobmas, which the anniversary of the creation of Ravelry, without which, probably none of us would have met. Then tomorrow the soccer games and the visit to Maggie’s Farm to see the sheep whose wool I’ll be buying! Fun times!

2 more things…I’m still plugging away on the feather and fan shawl I started so long ago, but I finally did take a picture. Also, I tried on the ribbed part of my Stargazer, and guess what? It appears to be a bit too big!!!!!!! While I’m pretty excited about that, I’m sort of thinking maybe I need to frog it now. I’ve figured out that the body part will probably take me about 4 balls, which leaves 5 balls for the 2 sleeves. So, I was thinking about dividing one ball in half, to have 2 1/2 balls for each sleeve and doing those, then picking up stitches for the body and knitting downwards. Frogging 2 balls of angora though? Aaaaaaaagh!

1 Response to “Rain Forest Day”


  1. 1 KnittingGnome April 11, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    I love the whole “I wanted to be a boy kitty” thing! So adorable! You will have to remind him of it when he is older! Too cute!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


