The visit to Maggie’s Farm

Wow, was today great. We slept in, a little. We baked cookies. We baked the baked noodley stuff, recipe at the end of the post here. We napped, a little. We drove. We laughed. We cried. It was a long drive, it seemed. At the end, all agreed that the destination was well worth the journey.

Barbara had told me I was welcome to pick up the yarn I wanted, as opposed to her mailing it out. I thought, why spend $5 for postage, when I can spend $20 in gas to drive out there? Well, because we got to meet the sheep. So there. When I make whatever I’m going to make from that lovely yarn, how many people can say they met the sheep that their scarf/hat/mittens/whatever it is came from?

Steve, before leaving for work, was kind enough to print off turn by turn directions out to Lawrence, and I had the map from Barbara as well, so we made it there with not one wrong turn at all. No, I take it back. There was one sort of. I was watching for the right turn that I knew would be right after this little airport, and I saw the airport and saw a turn lane and thought that must be it. Turns out, that was Airport Rd, and my turn was the next one.

We got there safe and sound, and the kids literally bounded out of the car and ran/streaked towards the barn. Barbara came out with the farm’s namesake, Maggie, a beautiful dog who was very excited to see boys to play with. We went into the barn and petted the sheep for a while, while Barbara introduced them all to us. I still don’t remember everybody’s name; there were 13 of them. Heck, I still get my own 3 kids’ names mixed up.

I did, however, recognize Blossom when I saw her. She’s got lovely black markings above her eyes, like someone drew big eyebrows on her. I did get some pictures, but I thought I’d post the one of the kids first. After playing a while, Barbara asked the boys if they wanted to give the sheep their treats. What? We get to feed them too? The kids went nuts. She had corn and pellets, and then she brought out the garlic. Turns out, the sheep love garlic, and, Barbara said, it’s a natural wormer. Very much cool. Even cooler, as a mom of boys here, later after all the garlic had been consumed, one of the sheep burped. Wow, the smell was, well, garlicy. I never thought of sheep having garlic breath.

We had brought them, the humans, not the sheep, a little tin of cookies we had made that morning, and she was kind enough to offer the boys one and a cup of milk. Oh, yes, she even invited us into her home, which was just breathtaking. They had a firebox stove heater thing in the center of the room, and cement floors which were very good for sliding around on, as my boys quickly discovered. She showed them feathers from her birdfeeder and let Patrick and Russell “help” her spin some roving. She let them do the foot pedal, sort of. David, scavenger that he is, found a little ball of yarn, and innocently asked her which one that was from, and she told him Blossom, and told him he could keep it.

I got my yarn, David got some yarn, with the promise of my leftovers, Patrick and Russell I’m sure picked up things I’ll find in their pockets later on. We all had so much fun. It was really a great day.

Oh yeah, we got invited back for the shearing too. We are so there.

PS, I almost forgot to put the recipe in here.  You need 4 basic ingredients, then from there you can totally add in whatever you like.  Here’s the 4:

16 oz box of pasta, cook it.

16 oz ricotta cheese

16 oz mozz cheese

32 oz spaghetti sauce

Seeing a theme here?  16, 16, 16, 32.  Easy to remember.  And also, approximations.  My ricotta cheese, for example, only comes in 15 oz.  And the sauce?  28 oz.  It’s ok.

So, boil the pasta, and in a big bowl, mix together the other 3, saving a couple handfulls of the mozz cheese as a topping, then when the pasta’s done, mix that in too.  Put it in a 9 x 13 pan, top it with the rest of the mozz, and bake at 350 for 20 to 25 minutes.

You can add in all sorts of things, mushrooms, Italian sausage, ground whatever, zucchini, etc.  The reason we call it the baked noodley stuff is because we do a different pasta all the time.  I let the kids pick one out.  I have to say though, I like the spirals the best because they seem to hold the cheese and sauce best.  The shells tend to get all inside each other.  Enjoy!

2 Responses to “The visit to Maggie’s Farm”


  1. 1 Angela April 16, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Oh, WOW! I have SOO got to try this recipe!!! TYTYTY!

  2. 2 Angela April 21, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Ciao! I made this for dinner tonight. I loved it. The nly things I did different were add ground beef, onions, parsley, and rosemary.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


