Blossom’s yarn

Blossom yarn 4-17-08, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

Thought it was about time I put up a picture of Blossom’s yarn. Isn’t it beautiful? As much fin as I’m having with the alpaca shawl, I think I may just enter this one in the fair instead. Locally grown sheep, locally spun yarn, locally knitted shawl. Yeah. I just with the Kansas State Fair actually had a shawl category. They have like 10 different categories for afghans, then a baby one, and a wearables one, and a “knitting other than specified” one. That’s the killer. Last year was when I learned to knit socks, and I made, if I do say so myself, a simply stupendous pair of Broadripples (pattern from knitty.com), and they took first place in my county fair, which HAS a separate class for socks, and second place at the state. I was slightly upset until Steve showed me a picture of what took first. I don’t know how to link directly to it, but if you want to go hunting on my blog, it’s back in September or October of 2007. It was this gorgeous suede thing, sort of Indian inspired. Next to my socks, well, let’s just say, I was thrilled my socks took 2nd.

Right now though, I really want to focus on the alpaca. Oh, and the new Nagini socks I’m starting with, what else, the alpaca sock yarn. I made one sock out of it already, but it didn’t fit right. I did my normal short row heel, but it was way too stretched out right there. So, I think I need to add a small gusset, or increase the # of stitches I do for the heel. I found the Nagini pattern I had printed off a while ago (thank you again to Gigi up in heaven for creating these patterns and Socktopia.), and thought that would look great in the colors of my yarn. And I looked at the directions, and it looks like there’s a little gusset there before the short row heel. So, we’ll see if this works out better.

Why, yes, I am on an alpaca kick, but I can stop whenever I want. Besides, it’s cheaper than cigarettes, and it doesn’t stink.

1 Response to “Blossom’s yarn”


  1. 1 milmom April 22, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Oh, this is a beautiful yarn!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


