My crazy kids

Patrick and hat 4-17-08, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

Doesn’t this say it all? Patrick’s all like “yeah, I’m the man, giggle” and Russell, well, he’s trying to smile. Bless his heart.

This is a variation on the Grandpa 60 hat, made from scraps my sister sent me as cushioning for something else she was sending me. She always does that, it’s so cute. It’s like there’s always more in there that what you think. She sends down whatever it is, birthday presents, or Christmas, then stuffs the box the rest of the way with scraps and balls of leftovers.

She had given me a decent sized ball of the red and black Wool-ease chunky, and a slightly smaller ball of the cream, and then a couple yards of the red and black again. So, I thought, I can start with that, then change to cream when I run out, then end it off with the couple yards of red and black. That’s just what I did.

Size 10 1/2 needles, because I couldn’t find my 13’s, and I don’t remember how many I cast on, probably around 60 or so. 2 by 2 ribbing, then when I saw I was almost out of the red and black, I changed to the cream, and when I was almost out of the cream, like I still had enough for 2 or 3 rows, I did a small decrease, in each set of purls, so then it was K2, P1 until I did run out of the cream. I counted the number of stitches I was left with and divided it by 4, so I could have a little + sign on the top. For ease of calculation, let’s just say at that point there were 40 stitches. Divided by 4 is 10. So, each branch of the + sign will have 10 stitches. Since in order to make the +, I have to actually double up the fabric, I now have to that that # and divide it in half to know how many stitches are on each side, which would be 5. So, leaving the stitches on the needles, I sort of did a 3 needle bind off of 5 stitches, except instead of binding off, I actually did a sc into the 2 matching loops from the front and back needles. When I had done the 5 stitches, which used up 10 stitches off the needles, I fiddled around with the needles, so I could do another side. So, from the top, the sc part actually looks like this… )(. And, it’s not quite tall enough to be able to fold up the brim, like on the other hats, but it’s still pretty dang cute, and it’s going into the box for church.

Now, off to play with alpaca!

0 Responses to “My crazy kids”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2008
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


