Twisted Rib socks, 1 down

Twisted Rib socks, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

I finished the first sock last night! Yay, only one to go. I also finished the alpaca shawl, so I’m going to figure out how to block that today. I read somewhere about someone threading a slippery thread into the sides, and even into the points at the ends, then you just have to pin that thread. It’s supposed to be somewhat easier than pinning the shawl everywhere. I guess if I can figure out how to maintain an even tension, the sides should stay pretty straight. I’ll try to get a picture after I get it all pinned out. This one may be fair worthy, we’ll see.

Now, I’m starting on the second sock, and I’m trying to figure out a way, because apparently the anal side of me is kicking in, to make those twisted ribs twist the other way for the other sock. On this one, I did the K2 stitches this way…knit into the back loop of the second stitch on the left needle, then into the front loop of the first stitch on the left needle, then slide them both off the left needle. It’s basically a mini cable that slants to the left. So, I figure, I can maybe do a K2tog and knit into the first stitch again, or knit into the front of the second stitch on the left needle and into the back of the first stitch on the left needle, then slip them both off. I’ll get started on the toe and then try them both and see which one looks better. If nothing else, I could just do the same thing as I did on the first sock, and then I’d look lopsided. I do anyway though, so I guess it wouldn’t matter much.

Oh yeah, there was a comment yesterday about me being a Super mom. I have to disagree. I forgot to put sunscreen on them and all their little shoulders got a little burnt. If I had remembered that I had forgotten, I could have just had them smear some mud on their shoulders, but it wasn’t until I was washing them off that I noticed. Oops.

0 Responses to “Twisted Rib socks, 1 down”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


