It’s done, and blocking!

Flower Faire stole, full length, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

Here it is!  The alpaca shawl, possibly for the fair if it blocks well.  This was really my first real blocking.  I’ve done sweaters and baby blankets before.  And crocheted snowflakes and doilies.  Nothing like this.  It really stretches the full length of the bed.  And I really had to fiddle with it, because I first stretched it lengthwise, then when I started to pin it the other way, widthwise, the pins started popping out, so I had to relax the length a little to get some width.  Did that make any sense?  It did while I was doing it.
Still going on the socks for Saturday.  I decided to go with the mini cable thing where I’m knitting into the front loop of the second stitch on the left needle, then knitting into the first loop on the left needle.  It’s looking really cute.  I know, who the heck is going to be that close to my feet to notice that I crossed the cable thingies the opposite way?  Hey, maybe I’ll put these in the fair too.
Hubby is in St. Louis for a couple days.  He’s president of the Kansas Missouri Lawson User Group, or KMLUG, which I always pronounce “kah-lah-mah-lug”, which annoys him greatly.  We stayed up until about 2 this morning, stuffing little name placard things into those plastic sleeve things that will eventually be clipped onto those lanyard things.  He was supposed to actually be in St. Louis last night, but there were other things going on that prevented that.  Then he was going to leave around 9 last night, which would have gotten him in around 2 or 3.  But, he didn’t even get done with work until 7.  Then he had to run all around several towns looking for those plastic sleeve things.  One of these days, he’ll plan ahead.
Yeah, probably about the same time I finish ALL my UFO’s.
It’s so hot and muggy today, and I’m so tired, I don’t even want to do laundry, because it may not even dry if I hang it on the line.  Plus, I just remembered it’s supposed to rain later this evening.  That settles it.  If I get up the energy for laundry, it’ll go in the dryer.
Oh yeah, back to the socks…remember I’m making them for that benefit dinner thing on Saturday?  It’s looking more and more like I won’t even be able to go.  We had one babysitter who was pretty sure she could, then when we called back to verify, she couldn’t.  So, Steve called another one, who wasn’t home at the time, but, again, was pretty sure she could.  She was going to call us back when she got home.  By 9 pm, she still hadn’t called, so Steve called her, and turns out she has another gig that day, and thinks it may be too much.  Not their fault or anything.  But dang it.  Me, the hermit, was actually looking forward to going out.  Since that happens about 2 times a year, it’s rather disappointing that it’s not working out.  Ah well, our anniversary is coming up, the 23rd, and maybe we can do something then.

1 Response to “It’s done, and blocking!”


  1. 1 KnittingGnome June 5, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    You could so have the socks done by the 23rd!! If you can’t wear them for the thing on Saturday, wear them then!

    The stole is beautiful!! I am always amazed by lace. That is a very beautiful example!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


