June Mystery Sock, part 1

June Mystery Sock, part 1, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

OK, now this is cool. I bought this yarn at the Knitwit Sale a few months ago. It was I think 30% off. I wasn’t sure what I’d do with it exactly, but the colors are lovely, and I couldn’t resist. Then, one of my Ravelry sock groups, Socktopia, is doing a Mystery Sock KAL, and the person who designed the pattern said it was nature inspired. So, I thought, hey, that green yarn would be perfect. The pattern called for a bunch of YO’s on the top of the foot which turned out to be little butterflies flitting across and up the foot. It was so very cute.

Since this is a KAL, and also a possible entry into this month’s contest, I had to figure out a way to have both of the socks finished by the end of the month. The way the mystery part works is that once a week, a new clue is given, meaning that the next set of instructions is posted. Like, the first week gave instructions on the toe and then said to knit stockinette for 10 rows. Then the next week gave the chart for the YO butterflies. The next week gave part of the heel instructions. Make sense? I thought, if I wait until I finish the one sock, then start on the second, I probably won’t finish it in time. So, I thought, since this yarn is in a hank, what’s to stop me from knitting off of both ends of the hank? That’s what I did. I knit the first one up to where the clue left off, then gently flipped/rolled the hank over and found the other end, then gently slipped my OTHER size 1’s out of the project they were in (sorry David’s horcrux socks, you’ll have to wait, I’m NOT buying a 3rd set of size 1’s!), and started in on the second sock.

Then, my anality kicked in again. I realized that those little YO butterflies made a little pattern as they went up the foot. So, on the second one, I reversed it. Like on 1 row, it said to k25, make the butterfly, then k2. So, on the other sock, I did a k2, make butterfly, k25. So, they’re mirror images. Yeah, I know.

Other cool thing #2…I was checking the state fair competition information to begin listing out what possible classes I wanted to enter things in, and found a new one. Cascade Yarns is sponsoring one, and you have to use only their yarn and make up your own design, and give them your receipt and everything, and if you win, they own your pattern that you designed, and the prizes are pretty great. First gets $500, second and third get bags of yarn. That’s a tough one. I was thinking of all the different Cascade yarns I knew of, and what I could possibly make, then I remembered that this yarn, for the Mystery Sock KAL was also Cascade. They do have sock yarn. So, I’m thinking, design a sock?

2 Responses to “June Mystery Sock, part 1”


  1. 1 Knitting Gnome June 17, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Love the colors!! They are so neat with the butterflies too! Great choice! I love how those socks are coming out.

  2. 2 Meredith June 18, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    That is, indeed, absolutely gorgeous yarn! Do you know the colorway or if it’s still available?

    As for designing socks, it really isn’t too hard as long as you know how sock construction works. All it really takes is a good bit of patience, a willingness to frog, a froggable yarn, and maybe a good stiff drink to take the edge off every now and then šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Tweets

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


