Lorna’s Laces DK swirl socks

Lorna’s Laces DK swirl socks, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

This yarn is so very nice. I got it at the Knitwit sale a few months back for $3 a hank. It’s normally $12. I think it’s worth it. I totally want more of this. it’s the DK swirl, in Mixed Berries, and now I’m kicking myself for not grabbing the other hanks I saw in that box. But, I had no idea how great this was.

The socks are plain vanilla anklets, except that the yarn felt so good, I did like 40 rows of ribbing. Plus, it’s a thicker yarn, so the socks will be for fall/winter wear, and I thought maybe they should be slightly longer than my usual anklets.

We’re gearing up for the trip over to Colorado to see Grandma and most of hubby’s sisters and their families. Most of them live around the Denver area. Grandma’s there visiting from FL for a few months because one of the sisters’ hubby’s died back a few months ago, and Grandma’s helping her out with several things. The death, while sad, was an expected thing, and even though I know that many many people are very very sad, I think the majority of the family are glad to know that he’s no longer suffering. He had been very very ill for several years, and had been hanging on for quite a while.

The boys are very excited to be able to see Grandma, and me too. She’s one of the things I miss about living in FL, because she was in the next town over from where we lived. Grandpa is still in FL, so we won’t be able to see him just yet.

We leave on Friday, and stay for the weekend. We come back here on Monday, then on Wednesday, the boys and I will be driving over to IL to see my dad for his birthday on the 4th. We’ll be staying with my sister and her hubby, so that’s always fun. We joke that my boys and I provide the service of birth control for her hubby. Like, he starts to think that it’d be nice to have kids then we come for a visit, and he’s all like, no, we’re not ready yet. Bless his heart.

0 Responses to “Lorna’s Laces DK swirl socks”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


