My sister is so smart

She may quite possibly be the smartest person in the whole world.  Which is pretty good considering most people who know us believe we share a brain.  She must have been hogging it when she came up with this:  a petting blanket.

Never heard of it?  Neither had I.  But, after you read this, you’ll be starting to think of how you’re going to make yours.  I bet.

Without going into all the gory details, she was having a day.  She e-mailed me to complain, and jokingly, I wrote that I was holding some angora up to the computer screen for her to see so she’d feel better.  Note, I don’t have one of those computer camera things, this was all make-believe.

She wrote back, hey, and I quote here, Wouldn’t it be nice to have a little petting blanket-just comprised of little squares of different yarns to keep on my wall here instead of squeezing that silly stressman?

See, she’s so smart.  I’m off now to Ravelry to plan mine out.  As soon as I finish the sleeves on that Stargazer.  I’m frustrated too, but more on that later.  Oh heck, why not now?  I keep flucuating my weight, and I’m really trying to loose some.  Well, a lot.  Last night, I upped my walk, and added about 2 more blocks to my 3 1/2 mile circuit.  Then when I got home, I actually got out my ball and did 100 crunches.  I get on the scale this morning, and I’ve gained.  This, after I said last night, that I was going to reward myself when I got to x # of lbs with some cinnamon zircon.  They had them last night on JTV for $15 for a pair of 5 mm rounds.  I think I already have the castings for them.  And zircons are double refractive, meaning very sparkly.  And the sleeve is taking forever!  It’s almost to the point right now where I don’t even like angora.  I really want to work on some of that new sock yarn I got in Denver, or the Lorna’s Laces I got in Geneva at Wool and Company.  Or, well, anything other than that sweater!  And when I go on my walk, I keep trying to ramp it up a bit and walk faster, and I keep getting a stitch in my side that makes me then go slower the rest of the way.

I need a petting blanket too.  Pattern guidelines will be posted soon.  This is gonna be fun.  Maybe I can use this as a bribe to finish the sweater in time for the fair.

1 Response to “My sister is so smart”


  1. 1 Meredith July 30, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Hang in there! This week and last have been frustrating weeks for lots of people I know (including me), so you’re not alone. Although for some reason, feeling stressed and frustrated always seems to accompanied by feelings of loneliness and the suspicion that no one understands. Lately, I’ve been finding it helpful to meditate on knitting as a metaphor for life – if you break time up into manageable chunks (30 minutes, an hour, a day, whatever), that’s a stitch. And as long as you keep going, one stitch at a time, things will keep moving and you’ll get through it.

    I like the idea of a petting blanket. I’ve been thinking about something similar as a way of using up yarn ends, but I might run into some sizing problems with that – I’m not sure how to combine bulky and fingering weight yarns in a single blanket…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


