Oops, I fell down

8-18-08, originally uploaded by YarnDork.

See this? This is what I AM doing today, as opposed to what I should be doing.

Let’s focus on the positives…
1.) I already did a load of laundry, and it’s hanging out on the line.
2.) The older boys had a healthy breakfast, I packed their lunches, and even managed to brush my hair and put enough cover-up on my under eye circles so as not to scare the neighbors before walking the 1st grader up to his bus-stop.
3.) The youngest one “helped” me get all the garbage out.
4.) Aforementioned youngest one also had a healthy breakfast, a snack of peanuts and craisens, and a healthy lunch of ham and cheese and pickles and a few baked doritos, and is currently sleeping in a tent that I helped him make after we got the garbage out.
5.) I am “almost” done with the fingerless mitts for the fair.
6.) I printed off some graph paper and fiddled around with a pencil and got what I think will be the design for Kyle’s mittens for the Cascade thing. All I have to do now is knit them. And write everything down.

Now, what I should or could be doing…
1.) Starting another load of laundry. Always.
2.) Putting dishes away from the dishwasher so it’s ready to load again tonight.
3.) Mowing the rest of the grass that oldest boy didn’t do this weekend. Actually, now that I look at it, it pretty much all needs to be done again.
4.) Cleaning off the dining room table of paper clutter.
5.) Vacuuming under dining room table. It’s a crumb picnic.
6.) Clearing gemstones off of good dining room table as I won’t have the time to play with them for a while.
7.) Vacuuming the basement tv room.
8.) Ironing a bunch of shirts I told hubby I’d iron last week and didn’t.
9.) Finishing up the 7 rows of ribbing I need for the other mitt, shown here in the purple-y yarn. Then all I have to do is figure out the thumb. And write it down.
10.) Working on the Fixation socks, which are also for the Cascade thing at the state fair.
11.) Finishing up the snake, seen here peeking out of the yarn bag, that’s also for the state fair, in the charity toy class for under 3. I made him sleeping so he woundn’t be scary.
There’s more, there always is, but for guilt’s sake, I’m stopping here.

What I AM doing instead… playing with one of the patterns for Maureen. It’s a hat. See that teal-y color? That’s it. The gauge is fiddly. It calls for worsted weight yarn, which thanks to the lady at the yarn shop, she got. It says 17 st in 4 inches on a size 7. Does that sound right? I got 16 st in 3 inches. Knitting loosely. Luckily, the pattern is a 10 st repeat, so I pulled out my math and re-calculated the whole pattern. Right now I’m on the double-stranded rolled brim with bigger needles. Calls for a few rows of that, then a massive decrease row and then on to single strand in the smaller ones. With the pattern.

On a related note, I’m sort of afraid to go check the mail. What if the boxes from the other sisters are there? I may have a yarngasm. If you hear a … well, nevermind.

1 Response to “Oops, I fell down”


  1. 1 Meredith August 18, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    *snrk* Yarngasm. I don’t think I’ve heard that term before, but it’s a good one. 🙂

    I think you’ve been more productive today than I have. I think it would be okay to continue ignoring the laundry/ironing/mowing in favor of yarn. Just say that it’s required to keep you happy and sane and point out that they really don’t want you otherwise. 😉 Good luck with it all.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


