Good news, and sort of good news, and better news

OK, where to start.  School’s going fine for both boys.  Patrick’s getting used to being at school ALL day, but still gets cranky at night sometimes, so we’ve upped bedtime and we’ll see if that helps.  David’s doing great, except for talking too much in gym.

Russell gets his own paragraph, because he’ll start preschool NEXT WEEK!!!!!  His open house is on Wed.  He’s been asking me for weeks now, “Is it September yet?” as I told him he wouldn’t start school until then.  Steve’s actually out of town that week, so it’ll be interesting with only me to get both boys to the bus stop in time, and then be in a presentable condition to drive Russ to his school.  I have to double check when his starts.  That’s the sort of good news.  Because it’s good and all that he’s growing up and looking forward to school, but I’m sure going to miss him.  Lucky for me though, it’s only 3 mornings a week.  For being the loner that I am, I sure have separation anxiety with my kids.

We went out to one of our favorite places to eat yesterday after church, Noodles and Company.  If you have one near you, go.  It’s one of the few sit down places where we can feed a family of 5 for $20 to $25.  And the food’s really really good.  But that’s not the good news part.  We thought since it was so nice, we’d sit outside.  And this big truck pulls up, and David notices the license plate which says ALPACA2.  As the guy walks by, I ask him, do you raise alpacas?  He says “Yep.”

“Do you shear them?”

“Yep.”

Do you sell the fleece or make it into yarn?”

“Yep.”

“Do you sell the yarn too?”

“Yep.”

“I think I love you.”

Turns out, he’s about 10 minutes away from our house.  We went to his farm last night, and met all the alpacas; he’s got about 20.  And Steve bought me some yarn.  It’s so nice.  I’ll be bringing it on the cruise, I think, if I can figure out a pattern by then.  I have a couple of ideas.

Speaking of the cruise, it’s in a few weeks, and Steve got a phone call from his sister a few days ago.  She reminded him that their mom’s b-day is in Sept, and she was wanting to plan a big surprise party for her, since she was turning 75, and was there any way we’d be able to make it down then?  Steve inwardly groaned, thinking that whenever Debbie was planning was, with our luck, when we’d be on the boat.  Guess what?  It’s not!  And, even better yet, it’s the evening before we’re supposed to get on the boat!  So, our original plans were to drive down there and get to the port with a few hours to spare before having to board.  Now, instead, we’re just going to leave a day early, and get there the day before, and have the big party for Grandma, spend the night at Steve’s brother’s house, and then the next day leave around lunch time for the boat!  It’s very cool that the timing works out.

I think most of the sisters are going to be there as well, so I may get more projects, or at the very least, be able to ask Maureen the questions I asked her by e-mail over a week ago that she still hasn’t answered.

The state fair is looming, and I think I may have to make a decision between the socks and the mittens.  It’s a tough one, as I think the mittens would be a faster knit, but I think the socks may have a better chance at winning something.  Plus, they’re further along.  As it stands, I didn’t work on either one really at all yesterday.  Shame on me, I know.

2 Responses to “Good news, and sort of good news, and better news”


  1. 1 silfert August 26, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Oh, my. We have a cranky little boy who just got his four-month immunizations; don’t even wanna think about him starting school! I found your blog by clicking over from Yarn Harlot, but I think I’ll add you to my bookmarks. 🙂

  2. 2 Fran September 4, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Ooooooooh, alpaca. You are so lucky!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


