Another day…

First, rewind to last night, where my allergies are so bad that I take 2 allergy pills (it says to take 1 to 2 every 4 to 6 hours, so I wasn’t OD’ing) and it still feels like my head weighs about 50 lbs.  I discover that if I put lip balm on my eyelids and around my eyes where they itch so dang bad that I’ve just about rubbed them raw, that it’s rather soothing.  And my nose is all chapped up from literally dripping like water every time I sneeze, which had been about every 5 to 10 minutes.  So, there I am lying in bed, eyes red and chapped and smelling rather minty, nose red and chapped and smelling like mentholatum, and I still can’t sleep.

O’crap o’clock – Russell comes in, “Can I snuggle with you?”

Slightly after O’crap o’clock – I say, “OK, is that enough snuggles now?  Can you go back in your own bed?”

He finally stumbles back off to bed, and I realize I have to pee.  Get up, pee, blow nose, re-apply lip balm to eyes, wipe the crust off my nose, re-apply mentholatum, and fall back to bed.

2 minutes prior to alarm going off – Russell, again, this time, “Can I get up now?”

Me – Uh, you’re already up, aren’t you?  Go ahead and get dressed.

Alarm – annoying sound, I hit snooze, hoping and praying for just 9 more minutes.

Knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, knock, you’ve got to me kidding me, who knocks on the front door and it’s not even 7 am, someone had better be on fire.

Neighbor boy – Hey Russell, can you play?

Russell – MOM! Can I go outside?

Patrick, stumbles from bed, and says, Russ, tell him I have to get dressed, and then I have to eat breakfast, and then I have to get ready for school, he says, rather confused.

(Side note here, I take comfort that Patrick seemed confused by the morning’s events.  I was too.  Seriously, who knocks at 6 whatever o’clock it was in the morning to play?)

I sadly realize that those 9 minutes aren’t coming.  I turn off the alarm, so it won’t go off while I’m in the bathroom, and wonder where Steve is.  He’s not in bed.

I begin to piece things together.  He got up to run with David.  That probably woke Russell up.  Then when they left, I bet they used the garage door, and then left it open, which is our neighborhood universal sign for “kids are available to play now”  Note to self, from now on, make Steve and David use front door.

I get up and get dressed, and stumble downstairs with Patrick, and Russell is no where to be found.  Patrick says he went outside to play with neighborhood boy.  I look.  No one there.  Neighborhood boy’s parent’s cars are both absent.  Um.

Russ is outside anyway, sitting on the cooler, enjoying a bowl of yogurt and grapenuts until I holler his name and startle him and he slips off the cooler.  Oops.  Tears, hugs, and “Mom will you check my back” follows.

Day is not starting off that good.

Hubby and David come home, get breakfast, lunches packed, one off to the bus, play a little outside, other one off to the bus, sit with Russell a little, go back inside, get Daddy off to work, start laundry, iron a few shirts for hubby, and get a little tired.  I think, hey, it’s my birthday, I’m just going to lay down for a minute and rest.

An hour and a half later, I awake with a start, thinking, oh my gosh, I just passed out!  Luckily, Russell was downstairs still, and the clothes hadn’t finished up in the dryer yet, so nothing was wrinkled, and it was lunchtime.  I called my dad to thank him for the card he sent and fixed Russell lunch.

Mail came, and a big box from my sister.

A while back, when we’d send each other e-mails, seems like most of them centered on 2 topics, yarn and jewelry.  We started typing in the subject line, “yarn and sparklies”.

Guess what was in my birthday box?

Yeah, yarn and sparklies.

First off, she got the cutest little bag to put everything in, with Cinderella and Princess Aurora, and Belle, and Jasmine, and Snow White, and Ariel.  Inside were several skeins of Lion Chenille in a nice foresty green, and a pattern for a ribbed jacket from the Lion website.  Ever felt Lion Chenille?  Very fur-like.  Oh, and stuffed in amongst the yarn was a box.  That little turd, who has been complaining to me how she hasn’t had any time to play with her beads, made me a whole entire set of pearly goodness.  There’s a ring, using those memory wire things, and a bracelet, and a necklace, both of which I think have magnetic clasps, and fishhook earrings, and, get this …. ready?

Matching stitch markers.

Oh yeah.

The day is so looking up.

Thank you God for giving me a sister who knows just how to brighten my day.

3 Responses to “Another day…”


  1. 2 Meredith September 2, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    That’s so cool that you got matching jewelry and stitch markers! I hope the rest of your day was more like the yarn and sparklies and less like the allergies and laundry.

  2. 3 Fran September 4, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Cool. I wish I had your sister. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

August 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


