First day and fair update

Got the 2 older boys off to the bus stop fine and on time.  Got myself ready and took Russell to preschool for his first day.  I even thought, on the way there, “I’m doing pretty well.  I think I may make it through this without even shedding a tear.”

We walked in, he gave the teachers their cookies, hung up his bag and hat, played for a while.  I hugged him good-bye and it was raining.  I walked out to the car, and started driving home.  I thought, if I hurried, I’d have time to get on the treadmill for a while, then a quick shower, and back in time to get him.  I thought that since I didn’t have any kids with me, I sure didn’t have to listen to the kid’s music channel that morning.  I turned on MY channel, the “classic” country.  You know, the twangy stuff.

Shouldn’t have done that.

1st song?

Hank.

Sr. AND Jr.

Yeah, Tear in My Beer.  cause I’m crying for you dear, you are on my lonely mind.

Oops.

Next song?

It’s Crying Time.

Good thing I had a whole new box of tissues in the car.

Oh yeah, fair update…I remembered to call them later on, after surviving the morning, and after the other 2 came home from school, one with a fever, one with an attitude, and Russell somehow banging his head on the corner of the wall so hard it looked like someone stuck a grape under his skin, but anyway, my box of stuff arrived safe and sound.  Yay.  Now the waiting begins.

3 Responses to “First day and fair update”


  1. 1 Meredith September 4, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Oh, it’s cruel when the universe conspires against you – rain and sad songs is a tough combination even when you aren’t already feeling down. At least your things made it to the fair judging and everyone survived the day (more or less) in one piece. And at least Russell’s probably at the age where bruises and the like are cool (once the actual pain subsides) and make for good stories.

    I hope today’s a smoother one!

  2. 2 Fran September 4, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    I share your tears. My son started grade 1 on the second and is no longer in the nice safe kindergarten penned in area, he’s on the “black-top” (tarred pavement area) with the other older kids. Good thing he has the yard monitor there that he had when he first started JK. That made both of us feel better. Today was the first day I walked away not teary-eyed.

  3. 3 silfert September 5, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Arnica gel for the bump and Godiva for the soul…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


