squeee!

I just checked the Kansas State Fair website, and I won some things!  Hoo-yah!  My angora sweater took 3rd place, which my first thought was “Huh?  Third?”  Then my second thought was “I bet the 1st and 2nd must have been amazing!”  Now, I can’t wait to see what beat me.  Cause, I sure need more ideas of stuff to knit.  I got a second place in the Other category, for which I entered 2 things, so I’m not sure which one won, the socks or the shawl.  Then, in the Cascade one, I got 3rd!!!!  I won yarn!  Yeah, cause I really need more yarn.  I can’t wait to see what I won.

And, 2 other good things…I got my ball winder, and we’re having so much fun you wouldn’t believe it.  Even my kids are arguing over who gets their turn next.  Dang, I am so getting one for my sister for Christmas.  And, I got another package of projects from Denver, thanks to sister Dulcie.  She picked out some real nice things too.  So, if you’re keeping track at home, that’s 2 sisters down, and 2 to go.

On MY projects front, I’m chugging along on the lacy jaywalkers.  I realized several rows into the pattern on the back that I didn’t have the same # of stitches between the VDD’s and the YO’s.  So, I had to do a little adjusting here and there.  I’m not going to rip it out again.   I also started the Custom Raglan with that Crayon yarn that I was going to make the Vanilla pullover with, but that pattern called for knitting with an 8, and it made the fabric really see-through.  I wanted something that I didn’t have to wear something underneath; that yarn is so soft.  I fiddled and added and multiplied and started and frogged and started again, and now I’m to the point where my V-neck is done and I’m knitting in the round increasing every other round for the raglan stuff.  I’m not real sure exactly where to stop on that front, but tomorrow’s knitting night, and I can ask one of the ladies there who made a similar one.

I think that’s about it for now.  Lots to do with Steve being gone last week, and playing catch up this week, and then next Friday we leave for FL for Grandma’s party and the cruise.  That’ll be fun.

3 Responses to “squeee!”


  1. 1 silfert September 12, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    Congratulations!! And you ALWAYS need more yarn. That’s why so many patterns include words like “repeat” and “over” and “more”. It’s a subtle hint from the Universe that you need More Yarn.

  2. 2 Meredith September 12, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Congratulations! That’s very exciting. And doesn’t everyone need more yarn? What if there were to be a terrible plague that kept all the sheep from growing wool? Then there would be a terribly run on yarn stores and the only wool you would ever have to knit with would be what you already own, plus whatever you could pry from the other people in the yarn store and abscond with. Not a pretty thought. See? Everyone needs more yarn.

    And I bet that I would believe how much fun the ballwinder is. 😉 My mom got me a ballwinder and swift for last Christmas, except that she and my sister tested it out before giving it to me and decided that they were keeping it. She did order another set for me, so I got my ballwinder and swift sometime in February, I think. And it’s very soothing, almost hypnotic, to watch the yarn go from hank to cake. I love winding yarn!

  3. 3 Robin September 16, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Awesome!!!! Congrats on the fair.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


