Playing catch up again

Seems like I post, then nothing happens for the longest time.  Or at least nothing that I think is really worth sitting down and typing out.  Then all of a sudden a few things happen, and I don’t seem to have time to sit down and type anything out.  Let’s see if I can recap…

Went to the fair Sunday after church.  Somehow I had it in my mind that it was a 4 hour drive.  It wasn’t.  Even with stop for lunch, I think it only took like 3 hours.  If we hadn’t it’d have been 2 1/2 hours.  Where the heck did I get the idea that it was 4 hours?  Maybe it’s cause I drive the speed limit and usually tack on at least 30 to 45 minutes to whatever time Steve tells me it’s going to take.  Like if he says it only takes him a half hour to get somewhere, I know with 3 kids, and the time it takes to actually get them INTO the car and then having to stop at least once for a potty break and my going slower, it’ll take me like 45 min to an hour.  Maybe that’s it.  He must have said it takes 3 hours, and I just automatically added in an hour.  Anyway, back to the fair.  Got there and parked by some really pretty houses to gawk at while we walked over to the entrance gate.  Went in, found the Domestic Arts building and our entries.  David was sort of bummed that more of his things didn’t win ribbons, but was glad for the one that he did win.  He got to look at the other entries to see what they did to give him some ideas for next year.

Most of my stuff is in the back, and it was my, or rather my sister’s, fingerless mitts that won the Cascade thing.  3rd place!  Woo-hoo.  I was really glad to learn that Cascade was only keeping the pattern not the finished project, so I can still give them to my sister for Christmas.  And the prize yarn was a whole bag of Cascade Lana D’Oro!  It’s half wool half alpaca!  And it’s a gorgeous purple heather color!  I am so stoked.  That Cable Luxe Tunic thing may never get knitted at this rate.  And it was my twisted rib socks that won the ribbon in the other category.  It was either those or the alpaca shawl.

So, I walked out of there with a check not quite enough to cover the postage I spent to mail the stuff over there, and a bag of yarn.

Oh, and 2 big bags of kettle corn.

0 Responses to “Playing catch up again”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Tweets

September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


