I’m back, Part 3

I forgot to mention something very important about Grandma’s birthday party. She gave out presents. Later that evening, after many of the guests had left, and there was only family left, she got into her safe. Where she keeps the “good” jewelry. She gave me a beautiful opal and diamond ring. I had wanted to wear an opal when I premiered my new angora Stargazer on the cruise, and had brought my other ones along, but this one blew them all away, and so that’s what I wore when we went to the extra fancy dinner thing on the cruise. More on that later.

Back to the cruise. Second day, we docked at Castaway Cay, Disney’s very own island in the Bahamas. It’s really really nice. That day was pretty darn hot though. We lubed the kids up with the 50 proof sunscreen, and splashed around in the ocean for a bit, then they wanted to go in the kid’s club, which had been transfered to a specific area on the island for that day. Nice, huh?

I don’t know what else I did that day, it seems to have flown by. I know I knit a little, because a lady said to her hubby, “It’s a sock; she’s knitting.” And we struck up a conversation. She didn’t bring her knitting. I asked why not? She laughed and said her hubby would have shot her. My hubby responded, if I didn’t let her bring her knitting, she would have shot ME. She had never heard of Ravelry, so I told her, and told her to look me up there. I think she wrote it down. She said she loved knitting socks. I told her all about all the free patterns on there and everything. Well, not everything, that would have taken a week.

We collected the boys, who were dead tired, went back to the cabin, bathed everyone as best as we could, and made them lay down for a nap. They passed out. Including Steve. It was Pirate night at dinner, and although we didn’t dress like pirates, we still went and enjoyed a lovely dinner at The Animator’s Palette. There was a pirate parade, and they had given us little red bandana things to tie around our heads. David did his like a headband, with the skull and crossbones right over his forehead. Patrick and Daddy did theirs as they were supposed to. Russell and I decided to go bandana free.

Then we checked the kids into the kid’s club again and this time actually did go to the karaoke thing. It was so dark in there I could hardly knit. But I did. Worked on my Lacy Jaywalkers. It was pretty fun.

The next day was the Day at Sea. Steve wanted to go to this one thing about the new vacation club things, I didn’t hear pretty much any of it, as he wanted to bring the kids too, don’t know why, and I spent all my time entertaining them. Then it was lunch-time and we went back for a little snooze. That was our fancy/schmancy dinner night, and hubby had arranged for me to have a manicure thing at the spa. That was nice. Then back to the room to change clothes for our dinner at Palo’s where I premiered the Stargazer! It fit wonderfully, although I think I’ll have to change something as the shoulder was slipping down a little. I wore it with my black velvet skirt, and we got a picture as well. Dinner was really good, dessert was even better; that souffle thing is to die for.

The next day we were back on Castaway Cay, where we all went on a bike ride. Steve went para-sailing. I checked the kids back into the club and knit on Kristi’s sock for a while. Somewhere there’s a picture of the sock on the beach chair. I’ll have to get Steve to download it for me later. The weather that day was even better. We swam a little and then went back on the boat to get ready for the kids’ little D S U graduation thing. Disney Sea University. Cute, huh? They file up on stage, all of them, and sing a little song, while there’s a big photo-montage thing on the screen, and it’s cute and heartwarming, and all that warm fuzzy stuff. They actually give them a DSU t-shirt, and a little cap thing, like a graduation cap, but with mouse ears. Steve videoed the whole thing on his camera.

We thought we’d let the kids eat dinner in their club for the last night, and we went by ourselves to the last restaurant, Parrot Cay. More on that lovely dinner and what followed later…

2 Responses to “I’m back, Part 3”


  1. 1 Meredith October 2, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Welcome back – it sounds like you had a great trip! I hope everyone’s handling re-entry to normal life alright.

  2. 2 AlisonH October 2, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    I have a little bit of jewelry from one of my grandmothers, and I treasure it. My sister has a gold and opal ring from our great-grandmother, and loves it (and it was perfect for her, as the turquoise was for me). They’re all pieces of their lives that we get to keep in ours.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


