Basking in the glow

The Yarn Harlot was amazing.  I’m still smiling.  She was charming, funny, personable, relatable, and somehow made everyone (I think) in the room feel special.  But then again, we are; we’re knitters.  She has this way of talking that makes you believe that knitting is perhaps, the most important part of your life.

But, even better yet, were the people I got the chance to meet.  I finally got to personally thank Sarah, the designer of my Stargazer, and Jami was kind enough to get a picture of me with her.  She said she’ll e-mail it to me, so that’ll be cool.  Sarah is so nice, and apparently the people she was sitting with had no idea she was so talented a pattern writer.  The one lady asked rather kindly if she could pet my sweater (Pet me?  Of course, it’s angora silly!  I should have worn a sign, “Yes, please pet me, I’m super soft!), and I said to her that she, pointing at Sarah, had written the pattern.  The lady appeared flabbergasted!  She looked at Sarah rather accusingly and said, “You wrote this?”  That made me think I really should have worn the sign, but added onto the bottom, “It’s the Stargazer pattern, go look it up on Ravlelry!”   Seriously, this is the first thing I’ve made other than scarves and hats, that’s wearable.  And really, how do you screw up a hat or a scarf?

I also met a lady Lynn, and that was a rather odd conversation.  She started by admitting that she had been blog-stalking me.  I didn’t even know you could do that.  And if you do, is it a bad thing?  I queue stalk people on Ravelry all the time.  I hope that’s not breaking any cyber-laws.  Don’t think so.  But anyway, she confirmed that my sweater had won 1st place at the Johnson County Fair this year, and I said it had.  Her sweater came in 2nd.  I felt bad.  I mean, I know I had worked hard on this one, but I felt bad to be meeting the person that my sweater had beat.  Would she be mad?  Upset?  I wasn’t sure how to respond.  Then she told me that she had also entered her sweater in the state fair.  I tried hard to remember the sweaters, but couldn’t.  She let me know that she had talked to the judges afterwards, and turns out her sweater came in 4th.  Mine came in 3rd.  Great, now I totally feel like a heel.  I was just about to really apologize when she let a little something slip.  She said she was sorry that her Indian thing had beat out my socks last year.  I was floored.  I thought back.  I know I blogged about that…did I say anything bad?…I hope not…No, I know I didn’t…I just said, Dang, this is why there needs to be more classes. Whew, I’m ok.  She said that she had talked with the fair folks also about getting more specific classes, one for socks and one for shawls.  Amen, sister, amen.

When I finally got done, I worked my way up to where Julie and Elise had been kind enough to save us some seats, and then she was on.  There was much knitting and even more laughter.  There was talk of “dropping the K-bomb” and “Who are you wearing?”  Answer for those of us who were there…Rowan! All in all, it was by far one of the most enjoyable evenings I have had in a long long time.

I did get some great pictures, wait, actually Julie got some great pictures for me, and I’ll put those up later, when the glow starts to fade and the high begins to wear off.

4 Responses to “Basking in the glow”


  1. 1 silfert October 14, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    You were there?! Me, too! House left, near the back, with the baby. What a great night… “How many of you, if you were not knitters, would have committed a crime this month?”

    You must come to Knitting some afternoon… or one of our jams… or our street concert this Thursday…

  2. 2 silfert October 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Was it blue angora…?

  3. 3 Jami October 15, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Wouldn’t it be cool if I posted the pic? Hmmmm….. I’ll have to work on that one. Thanks again for the gel ;-}

  4. 4 Fran October 16, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Sounds like an amazing time! That’s great that you got to go.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


