What a difference a day makes

Yesterday sucked.  Today, not so much.

Steve’s brother and wife and 2 daughters are here for the day, from FL.  They stopped in on their way up to North Dakota to rest for a night or 2.  Then on their way back down to FL, they’re planning on staying here for several days.  Right now, the youngest girl is napping, and the older one is in the basement playing with my boys.

And when I saw what poor condition Lauren’s 2 blankies were in, I had to start another one immediatley.  This one is just going to be a simple granny square, alternating green with the green/lavender variegated.  This is the girl who has fallen in love with the Pitter Patter yarn from Hobby Lobby.  And, her mom wants me to teach her how to knit or crochet when they come back around.  That’ll be fun.

I also decided to start working with that merino and silk that sister in law Dulcie picked out for a hat/scarf combo, and wow is that yarn decadent.  I love the pattern so much, I decided to adapt it for a pair of socks.  I had originally tried to make something called Snowflake socks with this yarn.  The pattern was lovely, the yarn was amazing, but they just didn’t look right together.  The yarn is Knit Picks Gloss, in a burgundy color, and now it’s on it’s way to becoming a sock in something called a Fern Leaf lace or something like that.  The Gloss is also merino and silk, I think, and is really a nice yarn.

Oh, sad news.  I wore my first hole in a pair of hand-knit socks.  My Autumn Palette ones.  I love that yarn.  The colors just screamed fall.  It’s a heathered yarn, and so nice and soft and flecks of colors, like I stepped in a pile of leaves.  And there’s a hole in the back of the heel on one of them.  But, good news…as I was cleaning, I found a whole ball of the very same yarn in a basket.  I must have bought 2 of them.  I never do that.  So, now, I at least have the yarn I need to repair it.  Yay.

For now, I must go, there are girls that need to be played with, and a new blanket to make.

4 Responses to “What a difference a day makes”


  1. 1 Jami November 3, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    See. That is good knitting karma ;-}

  2. 2 Meredith November 4, 2008 at 8:12 am

    Glad to hear things are looking better 🙂

    And I’ve yet to meet a wool/silk blend that I didn’t like, so your current projects sound delightful.

  3. 3 silfert November 4, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Back on the road, still grinning…

  4. 4 silfert November 4, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Heh, heh, heh, heh, heh! 😀


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


