I just couldn’t take it anymore

The call of the yarn, I mean.  That yummy stuff I won at the State Fair.  It’s Cascade Lana D’oro.  I thought it wanted to be a February Lady’s sweater, then the more time I spent with it, it was needing to be something more, something closer to me.  Not a jacket type, but more of a sweater type.  But, what to do?  I already have a sweater started for me, in the Knit Picks Crayon, and it’s turning out very well.  I’m doing the Custom Fit Raglan for that one, and I figured out how to make it a v-neck, and I’m almost to the point to where I can stop the raglan increasing and put the arm stitches on holders and just do the body.  I know this because yesterday morning I spent very much time with a needle and thread putting the bajillion stitches on a piece of yarn to try it on.  I put 2 stitch holders connecting the front raglan to the back raglan to make a sort of arm-hole, and when I put it on, it was just a bit snug under there.  Of course, that may be due to some excess arm, but we’re not talking about that.  So, I think only a couple more rows of that, and then I can get going on the body part.

But, I still couldn’t resist anymore.  I went Ravelring, and found a few patterns, a lovely cabley one called Tracy, that I decided not to do on this one, but probably will do someday.  I thought that one looked a bit too much, and I didn’t want something that I’d think was too hard sometimes and then I’d put it down and not want to pick it back up because of the cabling.  But, I sure didn’t want miles and miles of stockinette either.  That’s the Crayon one.  I found one called Flash, or something like that, from Knitty, and I swatched and everything.

But, I had to make a few changes.  Of course.  The bottom part said to do K6 P2 ribbing, which flows nicely into the pattern, but I love K2 P2 ribbing, and since the K6 can be changed into a K2 P2 K2 just fine, I did that.  Then the other change I made was to completely reverse the pattern.  I do K2tog’s better than SSK’s.  At least to me the K2tog is easier, and I think it looks neater.  Perhaps I just need to practice my SSK’s, but not on this sweater.  So, instead of doing the YO’s followed a couple stitches later by the SSK’s, I’m going K2tog’s followed a couple stitches later by the YO’s.  Which leads me to the other change.  I’m not doing YO’s.  I found it’s leaving a hole that’s too big for my desires, so on the YO rows, I’m actually picking up the running length between the 2 stitches and knitting into it.  Not into the back loop, which is what you’d normally do to close the hole, but just into it regular.  I’m finding that it’s leaving a small hole, which is just right.

So, that’s that.  Oh yes, and something happened the other day that should have been really weird, but oddly wasn’t.  I’ll write about that one later.  Right now, that sweater is calling me.  Again.  And it’s knitting night, and I still need to do a load of clothes.

2 Responses to “I just couldn’t take it anymore”


  1. 1 Meredith November 7, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I know what you mean about the siren call of a sweater or yarn. It’s been very hard to put the Tangled Yoke cardigan down long enough to attend to other things like work and school and eating. I’m almost to the point where I can join the arms to the body and knit the yoke, and I’m so excited! Plus, I keep daydreaming about what to knit next. I’m thinking maybe the Urban Aran or Diamond Rain. Or I could do something about one of my many lace WIPs, but they don’t make good commuting or reading knitting…

    On decreases: The reason that left-leaning decreases (ssk or skpo) look sloppy so often has to do with the way yarn is spun/plied. The motions for left-leaning decreases encourage the few stitches you’re moving around to untwist. Blocking usually fixes this.

  2. 2 Janet November 11, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    I gave you and award. Stop by to pick it up.


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


