Sometimes quickie’s don’t work

So, I went to Michaels yesterday and got a few skeins of the Patons Soy Wool Stripes, or SWS as it’s more commonly called.  I’ve been really wanting to try this yarn, but I always think it’s too expensive.  There’s a sale, and it was $1.50 each.  That’s way better, so I got 4 of them.  In 4 different colors.  I thought I’d try making some little bowls like to hold my rings while I’m washing dishes, and maybe some new potholders.  I’d been wanting to try felting some things, and I thought this would be fun to work with because of the stripes and all.

After reading some of the 356 pages of projects on Ravelry, I thought I’d try that Calorimetry, and I did.  It was a very easy knit, and very fast and quite fun.  I read a bunch of the reviews of the ones other folks did, which mostly said how they made theirs smaller than the recommended cast on of 120.  Now, I have a pretty small head, so I thought I’d do the same thing.  Someone else said they had a small head and they did a cast on of 88.  So, I copied that.  I also did a size 6 needle.  Guess how small mine is?

Too small.  I can barely get it around my head.  It does fit, but it fits in such a way that I’m thinking it’ll slide off slowly if I wear it for any length of time.  So, I’m frogging it and doing it again, in a different color, with a different cast on number, and possibly with my size 7’s, if I can find them.

Update – frogging this is hard.  If I wasn’t so cheap, I’d probably just cut it off and throw it away or felt it as is, like for a potholder or something.  But, I can’t.  I’m going to try real hard not to start the replacement one until I at least get this one all undone.  No promises though.  Taking coughing boy Russ to the Dr this morning; he developed a cough this weekend that sounds like bronchitis.  Gotta love preschool!

2 Responses to “Sometimes quickie’s don’t work”


  1. 1 Meredith November 10, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I’m sorry, although not surprised, to hear that SWS doesn’t frog. When I knit scarves with it, it sometimes seemed like it was felting as I knit, and the loose ends were all at least partially felted by the time I got to weaving them in. It might not be worth the effort of frogging – if it doesn’t frog, it probably won’t knit up again, either. Besides if you felt the first one, that’ll let you know how the shape and size change with felting.

    I hope Russell feels better soon!

  2. 2 Jami November 11, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Felting! Heavens to Betsy! I just bought 11 skeins of this for a garment. Better not felt 😦


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


