Oh look! Knitting!

Ravelry is so wonderful, and such a big time-suck.  I got my sister on, which is fantastic, but now I’m on there looking at stuff for her too.  And then looking at stuff for me.  And queueing projects.  And looking at other people’s projects.  And then queueing them.  At this rate, I won’t have time to knit any of them.  But, it’s so neat.  So, I want to stop, but then again, I don’t.

That calorimetry I finished?   I really wanted to make another one.  So, I e-mailed my sister at work to show her the picture.  She can’t see flickr at work, and my computer upstairs where the pictures are loaded, for whatever reason, can’t e-mail her the pictures just as an attachment.  The computer downstairs can do that, but the computer itself is so old, there’s no plug in place for the computer cable.  It’s a vicious circle.  Anyway, I was thinking I’d just make her one anyway.  Then I went to knitting night on Friday, and my good friend jenibug commented on mine and asked if I’d make her one!  But we both agreed that the colors in mine where not really her colors.  So, I went home and checked out the SWS I had previously bought, and thought that none of them would really work on her.  So, off to Michaels just one more time for that $1.50 SWS sale, among others, and this time escaped by only laying down $6.51.  But, I did get 2 more colors of SWS that I think would both look awesome on her, so the plan is, I’ll make 2, one in each color, and give my sister the one that she doesn’t want.  I finished the first one the other day, and I’ve already started on the second one.

I also finished the Noro hat for Patrick, done in that Dark Horse Fantasy yarn.  His turned out pretty cute, I think, but I got awful ladders on the purl rows.  I soaked it last night, but that didn’t seem to help very much.  I’ll try washing it next time I put in a little load and maybe that’ll help.

Also finally reached the 6 inch goal for that fern lace cap for Dulcie, and I’ve started in on the decrease part.  That yarn is so amazing.

David’s socks are going well too.  I’m going both at the same time with my 2 sets of size 1’s.  I found I also have another set of size 1’s, and I’m fighting off the urge to cast on the sock pattern I picked out to make for my sister out of that yarn I won.  I really need to get more done on some other things.  I’m making her a vest thing;I picture her wearing it over a turtleneck or other long-sleeved shirt to work.  It’s in this super fuzzy yarn, and I know I’m going to have a lot leftover.  So, while I’m knitting away at that, I’m already thinking of things to do with however much is left.

I think I want to do a nice scarf for Steve for Christmas.  Knitpicks has this merino that I’ve been wanting to try, plus I still want to order some dyeable sock yarn from them.  When we went to Hawaii, my sister bought 2 of those Red Dirt shirts, only hers had not been pre-washed.  So, smart cookie that she is, she soaked them in a 5 gallon bucket for a long time, and now has a bucket of Red Dirt water.  She had a bunch of wash rags in there to test, and I guess it worked pretty good.  So, she mentioned to me that I might want to send her some yarn, and she’d put it in there.  I guess a Knitpicks order is in the works.

1 Response to “Oh look! Knitting!”


  1. 1 silfert November 19, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    I made some red fiber today… The bottle slipped and I look like the Saturday Night Live sketch of Julia Child.

    “Oh, I’ve cut the dickens out of my finger!”


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


