Proof of the finishitis

Calorimetry #2Calorimetry #3

Dulcie's silk hatReserved sign at Panera

Here’s the other 2 calorimetries that I finished, still sans wooden bead for the tie part, and the silk hat that is so very lovely.  I still can’t quite figure out how to block it without getting lines on the side where I’d be folding it in half.  I really don’t want to buy a balloon, but I don’t know how to do this.  Maybe a towel rolled up or something?

And the reserved sign at Panera.  We’re growing.  One lady asked last week if they could push 2 tables together for us and put a sign on it or something so no one else would sit there.  Cause, you know, we can’t sit somewhere else.  Cool, huh?

3 Responses to “Proof of the finishitis”


  1. 1 Meredith November 25, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    The Calorimetries remind me of eyes… Maybe eyes from a modern art perspective. Still, they’re very pretty – I especially like the top one (natural navy?).

    As for hat blocking, my mom has a wooden head form. She just puts the hats on it and then steams them. I lack a wooden head, so I steam mine flat, but in sections so that I don’t steam the folds and end up with creases. For a lace hat, I’d probably wet block it on a towel.

  2. 2 Fran November 30, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    I love the colours of the Calorimetries!

  3. 3 silfert December 2, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    What about a deep bowl? My mom used bowls to starch crocheted lace “bowls” and such, maybe that would work with wet blocking for a hat?


Leave a Reply

Tweets

November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


