Think all the way back to September

Front view

That’s when I made these.  Realized today that I never put up pictures, I don’t think, of the socks I made for Kristen for that Cascade part of the State Fair.  I thought I better put these up before I wrap and mail them off!

Know what?  Since these didn’t win, the pattern is mine!  If anyone’s interested, I’ll be happy to post the pattern later on this week.  Might just do it anyway.

Oven Mitt

Here’s that very cool oven mitt.  This yarn was going to be the 3rd entry in that same Cascade thing, but I ran out of time.  My brother’s favorite color is yellow.  So, since it’s the regular Cascade 220, I thought, hey, this felts.  My friend had made one and she told me how wonderful it turned out, so I was inspired to try it as well.  She did some needle felting on the top, which I’m not going to do.  I’m happy with it as is.  I had thought about trying to do a smiley face on it with black, but I wasn’t sure about the shrinkage, and I didn’t want a distorted squatty smiley face.  Then I thought about actually back-stitching it on, but the felted fabric seems pretty thick.  Then I thought about trying to needle felt it, and then I thought, hey, it’s nice the way it is.  Just leave it alone.  I just hope my brother’s hand is not much bigger than mine.  I ran it through 3 cycles, and I should have stopped at about 2 1/2.  It was pretty tight.  I stretched it out as best I could, but next time, stop it early.

Christmas Knitting – I have you!  That is, if I can sew up that fuzzy vest thing I’m making for my sister.  I may cave in and just crochet the thing together.  Good thing there’s only 4 seams, 2 up either side, and 2 on top of the shoulders.  Seaming with fuzzy yarn is really not at all fun.

2 Responses to “Think all the way back to September”


  1. 2 Meredith December 4, 2008 at 8:03 am

    I like the socks. They appear to be a lovely lilac (which if my wardrobe, stash, and condo are any indication, is my favorite shade of purple).

    If the oven mitt works (I’ve never tried using one out of all wool), I suppose one could also do felted potholders or hot pads. There’s a lot of potential there…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


