What did I do before?

We’ve only been meeting up for a little over a year now, but I don’t know what I did before this.  My knitting ladies have become my oasis in the storm of life.  I almost didn’t go last night, partly because I was fighting off a migraine (second one in a week, that’s never happened before), and partly because hubby was running late.  I’m so glad I went though.  We have spread out from 3 or 4 of us gathered around 1 little round table at Panera’s, to having them push together 2 round tables for the 5 or 6 of us, to last night where there were 8.  And now we’re even getting more crocheters.  I got to meet one lady who I missed last week during our double dipping because she came on Friday and I came on Saturday.  And while we were sitting there, a lady who had been dining there with her husband came over and asked if we were a knitting group.  We invited her to join us and told her we were there most Friday nights, and turns out she used to work for Leisure Arts!  Woo-hoo!

And I finished some more things…

Hopefully, here’s a better picture of the fuzzy vest for my sister; I took the other picture in the dark.

Fuzzy Vest

Can you see the dropped stitches in the bottom half?  It is a very cool pattern.

Here’s the toilet paper for my dad.Knitted Toilet Paper

I’ll have to put in a note explaining that it’s not a lap blanket.  And we voted last night whether or not to put on a face.  Most everyone wanted one, but I think that’s just crossing the line.  So sorry Brew Chicks with Sticks, it’s going faceless.

And one more, well, two actually.  A pair of beer sweaters, also for Dad.

Beer Sweaters

All together now, Awwwwwwwww.

OK now, all that’s left are sister’s husband’s slippers out of some cool camo bulky yarn a good friend gave me and then to wrapping I will go!  And baking cookies.  And packing up for the FL trip.  Oh my, so much to do and so little time to do it.  Do I really need to sleep?

3 Responses to “What did I do before?”


  1. 1 silfert December 13, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Sleep now, because you’ll be up later, watching for the mailman when he brings you your prize! 😉

  2. 2 Meredith December 14, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Hooray for friends who knit!

    I’m not sure I get the toilet paper (maybe it’s my that this cold and the medication to deal with it have left my brain somewhat addled), but I love the beer sweaters.

    And actually, you sound remarkably on top of this Christmas thing. A pair of slippers, wrapping (gift bags are super fast, I’d point out), baking, and packing doesn’t sound like that much. Wait, by packing, you mean packing for four, so I take that back. Too bad the boys aren’t old enough to pack for themselves and actually bring what they’d need… Best of luck in getting it all done!

  3. 3 Fran December 16, 2008 at 10:07 pm

    The beer sweaters are gorgeous!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


