I’ve got a code

I can’t remember the last time I went through this much kleenex this fast.  Between blowing my nose, and coughing up, pardon me, big chunks of phlegm, it’s pretty awful.  So awful in fact, that I skipped my knitting night.  Which may have been last night; I’m not sure.

The good new is that the car is pretty much all cleaned out.  The bad news is that there are 4 suitcases and several tomato boxes full of stuff that need to be put away.

The good news is that Steve went to run a couple of errands last night and one of them included a stop at Honey Baked Ham to cash in a gift cert for a meal, so lunch today and dinner was a re-heated spiral sliced glazed turkey breast and sweet potato souffle and green bean casserole that I didn’t have to fix.  The bad news is there’s only 2 sliced of the turkey left and it was really really good.

The bad news is that my shower is leaking somewhere along the 2 stories of our house.  I showered yesterday morning, and in the middle of sudsing up my hair, my youngest came barging into the bathroom almost crying saying “Daddy says to turn off the water!”  Turns out, the boys were all down in the basement and heard the water hitting stuff down there, and called on Daddy, and he got 2 buckets and there’s only a couple of things that got wet.  The pipe that drains the shower apparently runs down the outside of the house, and he thinks that during our stay in FL, it might have got so cold that that pipe froze.  Or something.  The good news is that the rest of our bathroom including the toilet uses a different pipe.  The other good news is that we have 2 other showers in our house to use.

So, then, the bad news is that I feel like crap.  The good news is that I have an excuse to stay in bed and knit until I feel better.  Except for fixing the kids’ stuff to eat.  I’m thankful we did most of the laundry in FL.

Also, 2 more good news’s…my sister and my brother both got me amazing cookbooks for Christmas.  A cookie one from sis and a soup and stew one from my brother.  I have already ear-marked about 15 or so from each that I really want to try.  It is feel a cold, right?  Starve a fever?  I have no fever…bring on the food!

2 Responses to “I’ve got a code”


  1. 1 Meredith January 3, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Wow, for being sick, that’s a remarkably coherent blog post! I certainly couldn’t manage one that good if I were both feeling that bad and had that much to do.

    As for eating when sick, I don’t remember which way the saying goes, but I’ve seen a few articles that say it’s important to eat whether you have a fever or a cold. I think they said that your body needs to get enough nutrients to fight off the nasty little invaders, no matter what the symptoms are. So bring on the cooking!

    I hope you feel better soon!

  2. 2 silfert January 6, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    I’m remembering a song I heard on Dr. Demento, a parody of “The Sound Of Silence”…

    Hello, Dristan, my old friend;
    I’ve come to snort you once again…


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


