Busy as a, well, a mom

Oldest son’s birthday is the 20th.  I still can’t believe I’m old enough to have a  son who’s turning 11.  I still feel like I’m barely a grown-up.  We’re having his party on Saturday, and it’s a backwards birthday party.  Can I just interject here how difficult I find it to find cool party themes for older boys?  If you’re girl, there’s fairies and princesses and ponies and beads and jewelry and nail polish and all that stuff.  You can be 16, in my opinion, and still have an amazingly cool birthday party as long as you have enough nail polish.  In the cool colors.

There’s nothing like that for boys!  For the little ones, there’s the character themes, like Cars or Diego or other cartoons, then for the slightly older, there’s pirates, or a luau (which don’t remind me, last year we were in Hawaii at this time and yes, we did go to a luau which was so seriously wonderful I considered moving there.  To the luau.  Not Hawaii, just the luau.  Kalua pork, yummmmmmm.), or cars and trucks.  For the older ones, like tweens (yikes, is my kid really a tween?), what is there?  We’ve done Harry Potter, and that’s really the only one I could think of that’d be geared for the older set.

Then I came across the family fun site, and there was an idea for a backwards party.  Use your imagination, it can go as far as you want to take it.  David wrote with the help of a computer, his invitations backwards so they’d have to be held up to a mirror to read.  We’re going to be wearing our clothes backwards, and greeting out guests with a “Good bye!  Thanks for coming!”  I’m trying to convince him to let me serve the cake upside down.  Frosting on the bottom.  We’re hanging balloons from the ceiling, no helium, so they just droop there.  We’re putting crepe paper streamers on the floor.  Any other backwards ideas will be welcomed.  No dinner is served, otherwise we’d totally do dessert first, then the dinner.

Knitting wise, things are moving right along, but still no pictures.  I have to get my act together on that one.  I finished David’s hat and made Patrick some fingerless mitts, and oh yes, a milestone was reached last night…Patrick lost his first tooth!  He was so thrilled.  David’s sweater is really starting to take shape, but it’s on hold right now while I wait for a Knitpicks order in which there are some size 7 screw on’s to my ginormous cable.  I need to have him put it on, because I think it’s about time for the lime stripe.

Oh yes, and all these have yet to be put on Ravelry.  Good thing there’s no knitting police.

3 Responses to “Busy as a, well, a mom”


  1. 1 Meredith January 16, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    David could blow out the candles, then make a wish, and then everyone could sing happy birthday. If there are games, prizes could be given out before they’re played. You know the team building thing where everyone puts their hands into the middle, grabs someone else’s hand, and then as a group, without breaking the circle, tries to untangle the knot? You could start in a circle and make a knot.

  2. 2 Knitting Gnome January 17, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    Love the backwards party idea! Very cute.

  3. 3 Fran January 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I can’t believe you have a son that old either. I know what you mean about feeling barely grown up yourself. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


