It’s a rat, people.

I really really don’t have fun at Chuckie Cheese.  The boys did though.  Someone pointed out to me, why on earth have a rat as your mascot when you’re in the food service business?  Really now.  Why not a cockroach?  Those are equally cute….NOT!

I had a rough day on Friday, and after dropping off #3 at preschool, I found myself at a far away LYS that I’d been wanting to visit for quite some time.  It was really interesting, as they had their yarns arranged by color not type.  It actually worked out very well for me since I was there looking for something to make for Steve’s mom.  I wanted bamboo or silk in gray or black.  I found some really nice alpaca silk in a heathered gray, but I was concerned about the alpaca being too warm for FL.  But it was so soft.  I was pretty much sold on it, but I decided to make one more go-around.  I saw some stuff that just shone out from it’s little cubicle.  Turns out it had just come in.  It’s not even on Ravelry yet.  It’s also not on the yarn manufacturer’s web-page.  It’s by Mirasol, and it’s merino wool, bamboo, and silk.  I think it’s called Nuna.  I just had to get it.  I chose a gray color for Steve’s mom, and a green for me.  Oops.

The gray is going to be a cute ascot scarf thing called Friday.  I think the green’s going to be a neck-warmer sort of dickey thing called, oddly enough, Lacy Neckwarmer.  Links there to Ravelry, excpet that I can’t connect there, so I’ll try again later on.

Knit-night part 2 was tonight.  It was very nice to have 2 in the same week; I never get to do that.  I fixed supper and then ran away.  When I got back home, I still had to put supper away.  Oh well, you can’t have everything; I’m just grateful I got to get out of the house without the kids for 2 nights in a row.

I’m almost done with Steve’s mom’s monkey socks.  I’ve gotten past the heel on the second one, and I’m decreasing the gusset stitches.  A few rows of that, then it’ll be time for the twisted rib in the back, and I think there’s only around 30 or so rows then it’ll be done.  I think I’ll have no problem getting these finished in time for Steve to take them down to FL with him in a couple of weeks.  The scarf though, not sure.  That’s ok though, I can always bring it down with me the next time we visit, which will be either in March for spring break or June after school lets out.

Tomorrow’s church, and I have to get the kids a bath beforehand, since their hair stinks and no one bathed them while I was out tonight.  Going to call it a night.

Right after I finish this one more row.

4 Responses to “It’s a rat, people.”


  1. 1 Jami February 9, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    But, you’re a trooper. You made it through. And I’m not just saying this because of the yarn (although I now LOOOOOOOVE you!).

  2. 2 Meredith February 10, 2009 at 11:35 am

    You know, I remember that my pediatrician called Chuckie Cheese “Upchuck Cheese” so he clearly wasn’t a fan, either.

    And I just looked up Nuna (Webs carries it, which is dangerous for me). That is really delightful looking yarn. It’s probably good that I can’t fondle it over the internet, otherwise I might have the sort of accident where I fall and swipe my credit card on the way down. Good for you for getting some, though!

  3. 3 Fran February 12, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Oooooooo, I just saw Mirasol Nuna on Webs. It looks beautiful.

  4. 4 silfert February 13, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Our shop just started carrying Panda Silk, which is also merino, bamboo and silk. Must… Buy… Yarn…!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


