It all started because he was nagging me

So, I did it.  I signed up for facebook.  About a week ago.  It turned out rather cute, because I didn’t know they have this instant message thing.  One night while he was in FL, and I was here in KS, we typed each other little messages and “spoke” back and forth for a while, and it didn’t cost us any minutes on the cell phone.  It was sort of cool.

Then a friend from high school found me.  Then another one.  Then I started thinking of people from my old schools that I had lost touch with, and actually found one of my best friends from grade school.  She had moved away around 5th or 6th grade, and sometime in the early 90’s she had found my mom or something, and we were able to talk for a little while on my lunch break from work.  That was pretty much it.  But, I found her!  It was pretty neat.  The first friend that found me had mentioned that I’d be amazed at how many of my old friends I’d find on there, and she was right.  So, between Ravelry, and keeping the boys busy while Steve was in FL, and trying not to clean the house, and now facebook, my knitting has suffered.

So, dear knitting, I’m apologizing.  I’m so sorry you’ve been ignored.  I’m am re-dedicating my free time to you.  And perhaps, if you behave, some of my not so free time that I’ve borrowed from other things.

I really need to get cracking on those things for the sisters.  I have one slipper started for Maureen, and that cabled purse, but that for some reason is taking forever.  It’s worsted weight, so comparatively, it should be going faster than, say, a pair of socks, but it doesn’t seem that way.  I think the purse is going to wait, and I’ll finish up her slippers and do the socks she wants.  Then if I get real ambitious, she has an alpaca shrug.

The other sister has the same purse, but in a different color, and a cool suede thing, sort of a tank top, with fringe, and the whole thing is out of that Berocco suede yarn.  That ought to be cool.

I’m also insanely jealous of the Yarn Harlot’s February Lady Sweater, and of the fact that hers is done and mine isn’t.  So, I’m going to get cracking on that as well.

And David’s sweater.  I’ve pretty much given up hope of getting it done by the end of this season, so I’ve given myself permission to work on it until the fall.  I will have it done by the time the weather turns cool again.  I just hope he doesn’t have a real big growth spurt this summer.  I’ve allowed enough room ( I hope) in the underarms, and now I’m just doing 2 x 2 rib for the body until it’s long enough, so I can keep going until it fits, even if he grows.
So, that’s it.  I’m going to try real hard not to start anything new until I get some of those kicked off the needles.  Lest you get all happy for me, thinking that those are the only wip’s I have, hold your joy.  Those are only the ones I’m admitting to right now.  Please don’t even look at the plain socks out of that new Knitpicks Imagination yarn.  They’re almost done anyway.  I only have the ribbing left on the second sock.

2 Responses to “It all started because he was nagging me”


  1. 1 Meredith February 27, 2009 at 11:57 am

    hahaha, sucked into Facebook! I resisted for a long time (like more than three years) and finally caved about two years ago. What’s really incredible is the way that I sort of half stay in touch with people who would normally have completely dropped out of my life. But yeah, it’s a time suck.

    And I like your collection of WIPs – it makes me feel way less bad about mine! 😉

  2. 2 Jami February 27, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Uh Oh… You’re in trouble now. I have 3 ways to stalk you 😉


Leave a Reply

Tweets

February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


