Let’s see if this still works…

Handspun CowlI don’t know if this shows up real well in pictures, but this yarn was absolutely amazing.  A friend gave it to me, and it’s the most buttery soft yummy stuff ever.  Turns out she spun it, and the colors couldn’t be more perfect for me.  Deep forest greens, sapphire blues, magentas, and even bits of deep amethyst purple in there too.  It really defies description.  I had over 200 yards of it, and really struggled with what to make to make the best use of it.  I decided on this cowl, which did not quite use the whole bit of it.  So, with the leftover, I made this:

Mini CaliometryI’m calling it my mini-calorimetry.  Again, don’t know if this shows up, but when I got to the end, I had a bit of yarn still, but not enough to do an entire row.  I surely didn’t want it to go to waste, or to just be thrown away, so I made sure I used every teeny inch.  I cast off, and pulled out my C or D hook, I don’t remember now, and did a ch 10 or so, and did 3 dc in each ch, then still had a little more left, so I did it again.  That made me only have a couple of inches left, which I wove in with the hook.  So, I have a mini-cali, with 2 curliques on it.  Nice, no?

Green Slippery's

Slippery socks, from knitty.  They are both past the heel, and I’m working off of 2 charts with 2 different row repeats on them.  Right now, it’s ok, because I started them both at the same time, so row 5 o one chart is row 5 on the other one.  Pretty soon, I’m going to have to re-label the other one or something, because when the one begins again, row 8 on one chart will be row 13 on the other one, or something like that.  I’m wondering if these might be fair-worthy when I get them done.

Dulcie's Twisty Monkey's

Here’s the no purl Monkeys I made for hubby’s mom.  She loves loves loves them, and actually has requested more.  I told her about bamboo yarn, and she thought that sounded interesting, so I’m on the lookout for that, and she admired my Imagination socks so much that I told her I’d make her a pair as well.  She even liked the colors I chose, but they’re really not her.  I think I’m going after some green colorway for her.  Here’s those very socks now…

Imagination socks, beginningThat’s them when I sneakily started them.  It was one of those “I need a plain thing to work on that’s portable, and oh this yarn is so yummy” moments.  Stop laughing, you have them too.  Here’s the socks all finished, and already worn.

Imagination socks, finishedSeriously, that yarn is amazing.  When I order hers, I’m so getting a few more hanks.  I sort of want to make that cowl they have a pattern for.  Cause, you know, I need more projects.

Maureen's slippers, in progressJust a couple more WIP’s to post, and then I think this one’s done.  These are Maureen’s slippers.  See that ribbed section in the center?  You seam it up there, by folding it in half, and use the garter stitch parts to tie it onto your foot.  Cool huh?  I’ll be sure to post an “on foot” picture when they’re done.

Maureen's socks in progress

Socks for Maureen, in progress.  Hard to see, I know, but there’s a little eyelet rib thing there on the cuff.

And the last one for tonight…

Alpaca fingerless mitts

Oooohhhh, pretty alpaca….These fingerless mitts are so fun!  If you haven’t yet, go print off this pattern and make them.  They’re very cool and make you feel very smart for figuring out such amazing cabling.

Ok, I think that’s it for tonight.  Tune in tomorrow for pictures from Patrick’s birthday, and the amazing treats we made tonight for him to take to school to share.

3 Responses to “Let’s see if this still works…”


  1. 1 silfert March 31, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    If I could stand having anything on my neck, I would totally make one of those cowls. What stitch pattern did you use?

  2. 2 Fran March 31, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    My favourite is of course the blue/purple/green swatch right at the top. I really love those green fingerless mitts though! The cabling looks so elegant

  3. 3 Meredith April 2, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Your mini-Calorimetry looks like a lot of fun! Very pretty, too.

    The slippers are kind of blowing my mind. I keep looking at the thneed thing and trying to figure out how it turns into a slipper, and it keeps making my brain want to explode… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


