I’m hungry

Fried cabbage and leftover chinese food for supper tonight.  Anyone want to come over?

Thanks to some of my knitting friends, who kindly pointed out last week while I was trucking along on the lace part of my February Lady sweater, that it looked like it was almost long enough.  I tried it on, with a needle on it that seemed approximately 1/5 the size of my hips as I desperately tried to wrap it around, and sure enough, with the kind help of a lady who had just made one herself, I was almost done.  She suggested I do 2 or 3 more pattern repeats, and then start the garter stitch border.  I thought, since the yarn’s partly alpaca, it might have a tendency to stretch downwards, so I only did 2 repeats.  I’m planning on doing about 2 inches of garter, then it’ll be on to the sleeves.  Woo-hoo.

I can smell the cabbage frying.  Excuse me a minute, I must go stir…

Whew, good thing I checked when I did; it’s done!  I’m going to let the boys play outside for a few more minutes so I can finish this up.

I have a confession.  Instead of working on my son’s sweater, which is what I should be doing, or possibly concentrating on one of the other wip’s I have floating around the house, the yarn I got off the clearance rack at Hobby Lobby last week called out to me.  I originaly bought 3 balls of it, thinking it’d make a great Go To Scarf. I even started it.  The longer it got, the softer it seemed.  I started wrapping it around my arm and feeling how it felt.  I thought, this is too nice for a scarf.  I wonder how much bulky yarn it’d take for a little jhcket thing.  You know, like a sweater to pull on over a turtleneck or a t-shirt when you don’t exactly want your coat.  Even something to ward off the chill in the air inside.  I turned on Ravlery and the hunt began.  I decided on a pattern from Knitty Gritty, sadly a show that DIY in its infinite insanity, decided to cancel.  I’m past the armpits and trying to decide now if I want to put a little ribbing at the sides to draw it in a little to make it look like I have a waist.

OK, fried cabbage is calling…

1 Response to “I’m hungry”


  1. 1 Meredith April 2, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Ooh, I had leftover Chinese food too!

    And I like the sweater/jacket pattern you chose – it’s way cute. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


