It’s late, but official

David's cake, 2009

I was all set to write about Patrick’s birthday party yesterday, then I remembered, I never put up the picture of David’s.  That was right around the time the computer pooped out and wouldn’t let me post pictures.

David wanted a blue cake.  With marshmallows.  I baked the cake, chocolate with some swirly chips mixed in, and I tinted the frosting, and frosted it, and he did the rest.  I don’t know if you can tell from the picture, but along the top border of the cake, the marshmallows are separated by the swirly chips.  Then he put a star of marshmallows in the center.  It’s a 5 pointed star, which worked out really well for the age, he put one candle in each point, one candle in the center, and one between, for a total of 11.  I’m still trying to accept the fact that I’m old enough to have an 11 year old.

Somewhere I have pictures from Russell’s birthday, which I should probably put up as well.  But, tune in tomorrow for the sand castle cake from Patrick’s party.  It went so well.

On the knitting front, pretty much nothing happened yesterday.  I did work on a neck warmer thing at a dinner we went to last night, and bound it off (without cutting the yarn) this morning.  I tried it on, and it’s not blocked or anything, but I think I may re-knit the neck part.  I really don’t like how loose it feels around my neck.  I don’t want to destroy the pattern though, it’s a nice chevron think, so I may experiment with possibly some 2 x 2 ribbing in the back and keep the pattern in the front and sides.

Tonight, I’m working on the sleeves of that super bulky thing and my February Lady sweater.  I’ll try to get a picture of that bulky one later on.  Oh, and I decided what to make for the charity toy thing at the state fair!  More on that later too.  Sorry this is such a teaser post.  I’m tired.

1 Response to “It’s late, but official”


  1. 1 silfert April 6, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    I must be in tune; your post made sense to me!

    Yay, fun with cake! 🙂 And birthdays!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


