This is normal, right?

I finished off those fingerless mitts yesterday.  I should have done them long ago, as I only had to do the ribbing at the top, 12 rows, and then pick up stitches for the thumb and do 5 rows of ribbing there.   I already soaked them and they’re drying on a towel by my window.  I wanted to get them done so I could give them to the lady who cuts all of our hair, and the boys have an appt tomorrow.  Whew.

So, to celebrate, after I went on a 2 mile walk/jog (WAY more walk than jog; I hate the jigglyness of jogging), I cast on for a February Baby sweater with some new stuff I got at Hobby Lobby that wasn’t on sale.  It’s called Rainbow Wool, and I picked out the green.  I thought I had such a fun time knitting up the baby surprise jacket a few years ago for the fair, and almost wanted to do that again, but then thought, hey if I ever am blessed enough to have just one more baby, wouldn’t it be adorable if we could both wear our February sweaters?

Mine’s still trucking along, I’m on the first sleeve, and frankly, I think I’m almost done.  I had originally toyed with the idea of making them full length, but having seen it live in person, I sort of like the 3/4 length.  I do think though, that I don’t like it so swingy on the sleeves, so I guess I’ll taper them in and do a garter stitch cuff.  I’d really rather have a ribbed cuff, but it totally would not go with the rest of the sweater.

The sock for Maureen is almost done as well.  I thought I was ready for the ribbing, but I tried it on (we have the same size feet, pretty much), and I think it needs to be a little bit longer.

I’ve also been feeling guilty since finishing up my $12 sweater because poor David still doesn’t have his done.  It’s just got hours and hours and miles and miles of 2 x 2 rib to go.  I’m frankly praying that he doesn’t have a ginormous growth spurt this summer and then it won’t fit him by fall.  Actually, before I go any further, I’m going to make him try it on.  Rib is stretchy and all, but if I need to increase the chest circumference, I’d rather know now than later.

Just a thought, back to the baby sweater, I can enter that in the fair if I get it done in time, and if it looks cool.  Then it’ll just wait for a baby…

1 Response to “This is normal, right?”


  1. 1 silfert April 18, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I can just imagine the heart attack Himself would have after THAT conversation!

    “Hey honey! I have enough yarn to make a little sweater to match this one, how about another baby?”

    *clunk*


Leave a Reply

Tweets

April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


