I’m getting spoiled

This Kansas weather has been so very nice!  We’ve kept the windows open, and even some nights I wake up shivering and have to close them; it’s like September here and I’m loving it.

What I’m not loving, however, is 2 things.

1.  The ragweed and mold count according to Fox news are high.  Very high.  So high, in fact, that I’ve given up and taken 3 benadryl already.  One yesterday, one last night when I couldn’t sleep because of the congestion/sneezing/itchy throat, and one this morning before going out to cut the grass.  The yard finally dried out enough from the almost daily deluges we’ve been getting since getting back from vacation for me to cut the grass.  I’m not thrilled about that, let me tell you.  Even if my allergies aren’t bothering me, cutting them grass really activates them.

Before you go all ” you should see a Dr and get a Rx ” on me; know this.  I normally have to take some sort  of allergy medication 2 or 3 times a year.  When I cut the grass, I usually don’t, because it’s only for one day, and I can handle blowing my nose and wanting to rub my toothbrush on the inside of my eyelids for 24 hours.  Normally by the next day or 2, I’m back to normal again.  But, when I’m already miserable, and then I have to cut the grass, well, dang.  I think someone better get me a cherry limeade.

Back to the countdown and #2.  Those Rattlesnake Creek socks that I was working on for the fair are not to be.  I love the pattern, the yarn is so cool how it changes color and all that, but first off, this is the second time I’ve started the dang sock.  I don’t even remember why I had to start it over, honestly.  I’d have to go back and research that.  But, the other night, I realized that I was only about an inch or so away from the toe and I stopped knitting to admire my work, the way the cables all swirled around and it looked pretty.  Until I saw it.  There, about an inch or so from the cuff, was a mis-crossed cable.  It wouldn’t have been so bad, but the way the pattern goes, there’s 3 cables in a set, so it goes: loop, loop, loop, then those 2 areas split up and one joins with the area next to it, and those 2 loop, loop, loop, and then back again.  So, one of my sets goes loop, loop, OOPS!!!  I was so frustrated.

The socks are in time out, and luckily on the state fair app, I only put down “cabled socks”, so I remembered that I had those Slippery’s still unfinished.  Since they’re cabled too, they’re being subbed.   Both socks  are done up to and including the heel, so I only have to do both legs.  Using 2 different cabling charts, with 2 different repeat numbers; one’s a 24 row repeat and the other’s a 20 row repeat.  We’ll see how that works out.

More later…the yard is calling.  Well, the yarn too, but I’m trying not to listen to that one.

2 Responses to “I’m getting spoiled”


  1. 1 silfert August 24, 2009 at 7:27 pm

    Himself was having the same problem at the State Picking Championships yesterday. Hoarse and squeaky, with watery eyes. We figured it had to be hay fever of some sort.

    Get back to the yarn yet?

  2. 2 Allison August 27, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Re the foot forms you asked about, you can find them on eBay by searching “foot mannequin”. I think they are $7.50. The seller ships very quickly and they are very good quality for such a low price!


Leave a Reply

Tweets

August 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


