New Projects

Let’s see…I got my sister and her hubby off this morning, and promptly fell asleep.  I think I needed a nap.

Haven’t been sleeping real well since hubby left for FL.  His mom has pancreatic cancer, and she’s, well, almost done with her fight.  So, I miss him, but I understand quite possibly better than most why he needs to be there.

In spite of the crappy weather (rainy and low 40’s), I had an absolute blast with my sister.  She almost single-handedly put together one of those mystery puzzles that I had attempted in the spring.  It’s one of those where there’s no picture, and it’s 2 puzzles in the same box, one of the crime scene before and one of it after and there’s a story and you’re supposed to read the story and look at the before and after pictures for clues to figure out who did it.  Lovely idea, but I couldn’t get very far on the puzzle myself.

We went on a mini yarn and bead crawl, to 2 stores of each all in one day.  Russ behaved as well as he could until the end when he pretty much threw a temper tantrum because I wouldn’t take him to the bank to withdraw $15 from his savings account so he could buy some Kidsilk Haze.  In cream.  I must be doing something right.

We spent a morning and a bit into the afternoon beading, and I now have 5 or 6 new pairs of earrings.  I’ll have to get a picture tomorrow to post up, cause it’s finally supposed to be SUNNY tomorrow.  We also discussed a shawl.  She got this amazing yarn, Plymouth Colorspun Worsted, and it’s black throughout, but with other colors in a slow colorchange thing.  It’s really quite beautiful, #7022 I think, and she hasn’t been able to quite find the right pattern for the yarn.  She had started the Seraphina shawl, but the yarn was making it look really chunky.  I agreed and steered her in the direction of some knitted shawls.  I think some yarns just work better knitted and some look better crocheted.

She also requested another knitting lesson, and had recently bought, at previously mentioned yarn crawl, some Cypress Mohair and thought it might look cool as an entrelac scarf.  She asked if I thought it’d be too hard.  I thought for a minute, and said no.  The Danica scarf was the first thing I ever did entrelac and I thought the instructions were very thorough.  The only changes I made were to not use several colors, instead I used a color change yarn, and to also slip the edge stitches where you’d later pick up stitches to make that process easier.  So, she and I started a little KAL of our own.  She really only messed up 1 time really bad and that was really my fault.  I was trying to get her to learn to read her knitting, and I had instructed her to do something until she saw the gap.  She thought the gap was in a different place than it was, and accidentally joined her 2 base triangles, and I didn’t catch it until we were done with the first side triangle and she had too many stitches.  My bad.  If I had just let her follow the row by row instructions, like K6, it would have turned out fine.  I learned my lesson there though.  And she got double practice doing pfb.

She left me with a small assortment of beads,which upon my purchase of some nice jewelry pliers, I will be making all my knitting friends some stitch markers.  I don’t have many beads though, so if you’re one of my knitting friends, and you want more stitch markers than the 1 or 2 that I’d be making for you, go out to Hobby Lobby or Joann’s or Michaels or the bead store of your choice and pick out some beads.  I’ll buy the little wires and do the work and you get some one of a kind new markers.  I just get to keep the leftover beads.  Good deal, don’t you think?

There is one more project I wanted to tell  you about, but I’m going to tease a little bit longer.  You’re welcome to guess though…

2 Responses to “New Projects”


  1. 1 Fran October 18, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    Sorry to hear about your mother-in-law. My thoughts are with your family.

    On a lighter note, I can’t wait to see your secret project.

  2. 2 silfert October 19, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    I miss you. Going to work at seven p.m. on Fridays is not in line with my idea of fun. Plans?


Leave a Reply

Tweets

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


