Catching up

Here’s some quick shots of what I’ve been working on, and partly finishing since Christmas:

First off the Baktus scarf. It was supposed to be for my sister for Christmas, but alas, it did not get finished in time.  Luckily, my sister is overwhelmingly forgiving.

Sorry about the shadows.  I’m taking these pictures with the camera that fell off the nightstand and the little screen thing that you’re supposed to look at to see what you’re taking a picture of cracked.  So, now I have to do it the old-fashioned way and look through the view finder.  And since I can’t read the screen thing, I can’t tell if the flash is on.

At any rate, the scarf turned out very nice.  I still may or may not crochet a little edging around it.

Here’s some Monkey socks, that might be for my brother’s fiance, if she likes them.  Oh, and my belly too.

Front view of the monkey socks, part 1.  I got this yarn years ago from Knitpicks, and never did figure out what to do with it.  It does look quite fetching as monkey’s though.  The back part, which you can almost see here:

Wow, that picture turned out shaded, huh?  You can barely tell that I did 1 by 1 ribbing along the back side of the leg, and I also did the knits through the back loop.  In person it looks very neat and trim.

Next up, some mittens I did for my oldest boy:

They’re in Cascade Quatro, which is beautiful in the way it takes singles of different colors and twists them together.

Next up, a pair of mittens I made for Russ, in some acrylic, which he doesn’t like cause they don’t keep his hands very warm, he says.  Luckily though, they also fit Patrick, so he can use them as a spare.  I’m already working on a new pair for Russ, out of wool.

And lastly, a Baby Surprise Jacket in blues, as more of an insurance policy than anything else.  Hubby usually goes to this benefit dinner thing in the spring, and they have a silent auction.  When we went this past year, I saw that there were several baby things there, among them a knitted layette set.  So, the plan then, is to go ahead and make a pink one and a blue one, and whichever one I don’t need will be donated to that.

Here’s hoping I can use the pink one for a change!

2 Responses to “Catching up”


  1. 1 dale-harriet in WI January 14, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Ah, so THAT’s what you do with your spare time. This is stunning, every stitch of every project. You’re inspiring –the casual reference to the BSJ, neatly arranged on the needles, the fantastic sweater, that spec-TAC-ular cap with the skulls (that last is enough to inspire me to try two-color, after all this time). KUDOS to you, Sistah!

    Oh – and regarding Gunther: you have my sympathy; share a family group hug for him in my honor, because I would do that with you if I could. You gave him a fine life, and should feel proud of that, but the sadness….well, I’ve known it, and it’s truly one of life’s lowest moments. I’m sending love (and I gave Evangeline a little snorgle in Gunther’s memory).

  2. 2 silfert January 14, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    So I have to knit in green and yellow for a while, eh?


Leave a Reply

Tweets

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
Need a Snow Day?

Pages


